We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Steaks and salad Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ken's Steaks & Ribs

Ken's Steaks & Ribs
408 E Main, Amber, OK 73004
(405) 222-0786
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Amber
Restaurant details
Cement, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best Steaks and salad Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The best service and food. A little pricey but I don't mind paying the price for good food.
My husband and I get two meals. We both bring half of it home.My husband likes prime Rib and he is pickey about it. He orders it and is always happy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“If you don't go to Ken's, you've missed the opportunity of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

First of all, a disclosure: my family has lived in Amber, OK (a burb of Chickasha, OK) for generations. When Ken and Ola opened their restaurant, it was like a godsend. Great food, great prices, and the most personal of service. Ken and Ola greeted every guest almost as a member of their family.

Soon, Ken's became SOO popular that they actually had to install a heliopad for people coming in by helicopter! Yep. It's that good.

Now my father and brother always go for the ribs, which are fantastic. I always want the filet mignon, which is cooked to perfection (I like it extremely rare, and it is rare to find a restaurant who can actually cook a rare steak). Baked potatoes are fantastic; salad bar always always you good choices but plenty of fried okra, a staple in Oklahoma!

They are only open a few days a week, and open at 5:00 p.m. If you're not in line by 4:00, you've got a very long wait. So plan your day and make sure you go. This is one restaurant that you do not want to miss, no matter what your means of transportation in getting there! :>)

The McCalla family has been blessed over many years to have experienced the fantastic food, and we treasure our many memories of family meals shared together in a wonderful atmosphere where everyone (not just us) is a satisfied customer, everyone is happy, everyone is laughing, and everyone enjoys the playful dialogue with the staff! Thank you so much, Ken and Ola!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A secret steakhouse, 5 miles from the middle of Nowhere, OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very rustic atmosphere in a metal building, but the wait staff's and Ken's attention make up for any flaws, to say nothing of those tender, juicy, tasty (but slightly oversalted) steaks. The steaks really are pretty incredible, but I have never tried the ribs. Ken is a fine, friendly character himself and greets all in his colorful suspenders. The salad bar is nice, but nothing to rave about (except he cheese wheel is unique and you can get all you want!) This restaurant is the epitome of a personal indulgence (for Ken). . .only open Thursdays through Saturdays and if you aren't there early you better not be overly hungry. You would be very surprised at the number of people who would drive this far to get good service, a friendly owner and a great steak!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Steaks Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This may be a VERY small town, but Ken's steaks are worth driving over an hour to there. Service is so friendly. It may take a while to get your food, but the people who visit make it worthwhile. When the weather get nice, we hop on the motorcycle and make a day of Ken's. Please take the time to eat here. Small town with big hearts and smiles and bust customer service in Oklahoma!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burien
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh the Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

3 meals for the price of 1.
The all you can eat salad bar, fried okra, and rib appetizers are great. The lettuce is always fresh and oh so crisp. The huge block of cheese that you can cut off as much as you want to have. All the toppings you could want, with one exception, Bacon. Oh so close to perfect. But they more than make up for it with the generous portion of rib appetizers.
Oh, the Prime Rib. Mesquite wood cooked, NO gas grill here folks, this is cooked over real wood fire. I can't finish it, and I'm not a little guy. I usually have half the prime rib left over to take home for brunch the next day. Plus the Texas toast and huge baked potato with the "fixins"...YUM!
Out the door with a generous tip for well under $30.00, and another meal or two later. BARGAIN!
Just be careful driving in and watch your speed. Amber is a VERY small town, and Sheriff Rosco P. Coltrane has nothing better to do than pull you over.
They are only open Thursday through Saturday from 4ish to 9ish, so plan accordingly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's Steaks & Ribs also viewed

 

Been to Ken's Steaks & Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ken's Steaks & Ribs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.