We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it was!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jakes on the Lake

Jakes on the Lake
32485 Lake Rd, Avon Lake, OH 44012-1765
440-933-8304
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 44 Restaurants in Avon Lake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Nice little restaurant bar across the street from Lake Erie down the road from Huntington Beach Park.
Brook Park, Ohio
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Not what it was!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

In my previous review, (2012) I stated we would "be back and bring others". well, we did, and I was embarrassed! We have visited a few times in between, and not had any issues, but last night was awful! It was very busy, not a big deal itself. Wait time was not extremely long. Once we were seated we had to get up to ask for menus. Two of our party of five ordered the "fish fry" and it was more than fifteen minutes before they said they were out. Once the food came out, most everything was cold. We did not have time to send it back, as we had somewhere we needed to be. Service was slow, and busy is never an excuse. I had told our friends how much we liked it here, but ended up apologizing to them as we left. It probably will be some time before we go back, if ever.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“UGH”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I often think you get what you pay for........NOT here! Always amazes me at the poor taste of so many people>

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I had heard good things about the lunch menu. but we tried a fish dinner on a Friday night. The fish batter was soggy and greasy, the fries were stone cold. I complained and they brought some new hot food but the experienced was ruined. I would never go back here again. So much potential for a nice local restaurant but they failed miserably. Service was adequate , furnishings so-so

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I'm a regular at Jakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have never had a bad experience here and I dine at Jakes quite often. Wait staff is always friendly and go out of their way to please us. Saturday night prime rib is great with amazing sweet potatoes! I've had the perch and it was very good, crisp and light, not greasy at all. It's a fun, friendly place where you can get good food for a decent price. Plus I love the fact that it is a non chain restaurant

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Such a great wait staff, good food, and reasonably priced. Have never gone here that we didn't feel welcome, special, and the food great. Nice family owned and run local place that deserves a try. Specials are super too. We eat here at least 6 - 8 times a month.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jakes on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Jakes on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jakes on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.