We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place ran by nice folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2352 State Route 45 North, Exit 223 at I-90, Austinburg, OH 44010-0038   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Austinburg
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place ran by nice folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you're looking for luxury - wrong place. Looking for a clean, friendly, comfy place - you have found it! We stay here several times a year. Note, the breakfast is not the best but coffee and a bagel can hold you over until you cross the street for lunch at Denny's.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We appreciate your compliments on our comfortable rooms, friendly staff and complimentary breakfast. We also thank you for your continued business and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
15
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delran, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

very clean rooms . a good basic room for the price . The staff very nice and helpful . No elevator but they will work with you for a downstairs room if you need it . We did not eat the breakfast so I know how it was but looked like just basic breakfast .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are so grateful that you were satisfied at the time of your stay. As you stated we make every effort to accommodate our guests to their satisfaction. Keep in mind that there are many events going on in and around the area throughout the year! Visiting the Covered Bridges, Hot Air Balloon Rides, Grape Jamboree, Wine Tours, Trolley rides & watching the changing of the leaves!! Next time make sure to try our continental breakfast that includes coffee, tea, milk, o.j. oatmeal, grits, four types of cereals and a variety of bagels, english muffins, fruit, breads etc. and all the condiments every morning to start your day. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was just fine for an overnight stay on the way to the baseball hall of fame. It is right off of interstate 90 and the hotel was clean. Now don't expect a 5 star hotel for the price. However, it is a good basic room for sleeping. No I would not plan to stay here for my luxury vacation but for a night or two I would definitely stay again. Everyone was very nice. Breakfast was a basic bagel or cereal with coffee and milk. Do not expect champagne on a beer budget but I was very happy with the value for the money at this hotel. There are three rooms that are right in the breakfast/lobby area (I believe 109-111) Avoid these rooms at all cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and that you are happy with the value we provide. We are so grateful that you were satisfied at the time of your stay with our location, cleanliness and friendliness. We make every effort to accommodate our guests to their satisfaction; we are currently working on resolving the noise from the hallway for our rooms located in the breakfast/lobby. We appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family stayed here one night on June 21st. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. The rooms were large and very clean. Our room was located right by the lobby area which was a little nosier as you heard people in the hallway. I would recommend requesting a room further down the hallway away from the main area. A nice continental breakfast was offered. Lodging in the area is higher so we were extremely happy with this cheaper option. Would definitely stay again at this motel!

Room Tip: Stay away from main lobby area for quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind remarks about our staff and accommodations. We apologize for the noise you heard from the lobby area, please don't hesitate in the future to contact the front desk or requesting a room further down the hallway away from the main area. Your positive feedback and helpful suggestions are greatly appreciated. It was our pleasure to provide hotel accommodations for you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel worked for a one night stop, but there is no way I could do it for more than one night. The shower was disgusting - mildew on the floor and a low shower head. The location of the refrigerator and microwave needs to be thought out a bit better and the mattress was really worn out. And, there is no elevator, so beware...

Room Tip: Get a first floor room because there is no elevator (!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are so sorry that you were not satisfied at the time of your stay. Had we known, we would have made every effort to accommodate you to your satisfaction. Rest assured I have personally inspected each room to insure our strict housekeeping standards are being implemented. Since your stay, our new mattress order has arrived and the new mattresses have been installed. We would like you to know that we have plenty of rooms on both floors to accommodate everyone’s needs. Please give us a call in advance of your next stay to request a first floor room if needed. We appreciate your business and thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to show you our true hospitality in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

.The rooms were clean and given how close to the highway relatively quite. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, but the coffee was fresh and good. Front desk service was fine. No fitness center or pool. For the cost it was an ok value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a review. We appreciate your nice comments regarding cleanliness, proximity, staff friendliness and our facilities. We offer a continental breakfast that includes coffee, tea, milk, o.j. oatmeal, grits, four types of cereals and a variety of bagels, english muffins, fruit, breads etc. and all the condiments every morning. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was our pleasure to provide hotel accommodations for you and we look forward to serving you and all travelers in search of quality and comfort at an affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and found other nearby hotels quite overpriced for the location. For the price in comparison for this hotel, there isn't much to complain about. When we first came up to the hotel, we weren't sure what to expect, but upon getting our room we were fine.

Pros: Friendly staff, nice-sized room (we had 2 queens), free wi-fi, clean room, comfortable beds
Our room did not have a microwave, but you could ask for one. The rooms did have iron and ironing board, hair blow dryer in bathroom, heat lamp in bathroom and vent fan. Our room had a newer heating/cooling unit with thermostat; some other rooms had older ones.
Cons: Small breakfast area. Some minimal road noise for us, but others in our party did not experience this. Our room was fine, but others said theirs smelled a little like smoke when they first checked in even though it's a smoke-free hotel. We noticed in the afternoons and evenings the lobby smelled of smoke. A lot of rooms have a window that can open (ours didn't), so one could air it out briefly if need be.
Tips: Do NOT get the rooms directly outside of the lobby/breakfast area. It will disrupt your sleep I'm sure. Tile floors right up to the rooms.
Breakfast included: Coffee, hot water for tea, OJ, milk, cheerios, corn flakes, cinnamon swirl bread, bagels, Thomas english muffins, cream cheese, jam, butter, bananas, yogurt. If they run low, ask for something and they're happy to refill.

Comments to respond to other traveler's comments: The TV is not a flat screen but we don't watch TV... it was a decent-sized one, nothing to complain about. Wi-fi was adequate and free- we've been in some pricier hotel chains where it was about as slow as dial-up! They give you an access code when you check in. We did not see any pests in the rooms. We stayed upstairs. We had a tub in our room, which I think the majority of rooms have, but not all.

Other notes--
If you have an older GPS, just have it navigate to the center of Austinburg, OH. Ours landed us a few miles down the road in the middle of, well, not nowhere, but not where we wanted to be, where we also had no cell phone service. The center of Austinburg is the intersection of I-90 and 45, from where you can see all nearby hotels, including ABVI.
No restaurant on site. There is one called Mr. C's next door which is o.k. We didn't check out any other area eateries- our itinerary was full.

My advice: try this place out. If you don't like your room, ask to see another. It can't hurt. If it still doesn't work for you, go across the street or down the road a block and pay double, or keep on driving. Sign up for their club and get savings when booking. The amount you save will help cover the taxes.

Room Tip: Don't get room directly off breakfast area.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinburgabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your positive feedback and helpful suggestions are greatly appreciated. We also appreciate all of the aspects covered in your very thoughtful and thorough review. It was our pleasure to provide hotel accommodations for you and your party and we look forward to serving you and all travelers in search of quality and comfort at an affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg

Address: 2352 State Route 45 North, Exit 223 at I-90, Austinburg, OH 44010-0038
Location: United States > Ohio > Austinburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Austinburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a hotel facility offering 47 well appointed guest rooms with ample parking for trucks, buses and RVs. Our guests enjoy clean, fresh, comfortable rooms featuring complimentary high-speed wireless internet access, complimentary deluxe cable TV, complimentary local calls, electronic key locks, writing desk, telephone, AM-FM clock radio, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board, individually controlled heat and air conditioning, wake-up call service, and a complimentary continental breakfast served fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Ashtabula/Austinburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.