We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel at a good price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ohio University Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding block. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were nicely sized and clean. Nothing remarkable, but a very good, solid place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    60
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
20
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

I stayed at the OU Inn for a recent conference. Rooms are older, but clean, and staff is helpful and friendly. It is extremely convenient to Ohio University and the Baker Conference center - a nice walk in good weather.

The fitness center is small, but nicely appointed (a stability ball would be a great addition).

Cutler's Restaurant is average. Avoid the hot items on the breakfast buffet - I believe the scrambled eggs are powdered - order them separately (if you prefer over-easy, poached, etc., they are included in the price of the buffet and you know you are getting the real thing).

The house salad is lovely, but I only ate dinner in the restaurant one night and had the chicken pot pie. Good concept with the puff-pastry top, which was nicely baked, but the filling was thick and pasty and severly lacked any kind of seasoning. My friend had the filet, which she loved and was cooked perfectly to order. Restaurant staff is very friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveljunkiegirl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

As an alumna, I’m a frequent guest of the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center and I’m always thrilled with my experience. The rooms are pristine; the food is deliciously gourmet and the service staff exceptionally pleasant. I loved it enough to have my wedding there in 2001. My recent visit back to campus and the OU Inn was great, as ususal.

You can’t beat the proximity to OU – it’s literally within walking distance, even for those who don’t like to walk – and its charming atmosphere is quintessential Athens. Make sure to try the Sunday brunch! You can get omelets made to your specifications that are perfectly cooked.

I consider the OU Inn the only place I’ll stay in Athens. It’s a great hotel with fabulous staff there to serve your every need.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
564 helpful votes 564 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

My daughter had scheduled an interview at OU in January, one day after the Great Midwestern Ice Storm. Travel issues notwithstanding, the stay at the Inn was pleasant for the two days
we were there. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is a coffee unit in the room. The heating system was a bit loud and bothersome, probably more noticed by us because it had to run constantly due to the single digit weather. We ate a simple,
pleasant breakfast each morning and had a fantastic, moderately priced dinner at Cutler's one evening. Even though itwas a hotel restaurant, it was much better than the other dinner we had in town, at a place called Stephen's. Stephen's was a step above Olive Garden while Cutler's served wonderful, sophisiticated sauces on their pasta. The Chop Salad was wonderful and the wine list was decent. If my daughter attends OU, this is definitely the place we'll stay when we come visit.

  • Liked — Excellent service and restaurant
  • Disliked — Loud heating system
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

I stayed at the OU Inn on a Monday-My collegues and I wanted to stay at a hotel that had a restaurant and this is the ONLY hotel in Athens that has one. From the point we got to the hotel to the time we checked out all of us were very impressed. The hotel is in good shape(I think they just renovated), the grounds are well kept, and the location is great. The rooms are top quality-what one would expect from a Marriott or Hyatt and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel is built arround a center courtyard(with a pool) they is well landscaped and a nice place to relax(the restaurant even has an outside patio-although it wasn't open in November).

The best feature turned out to be the restaurant. It seems it is one of the best in Athens. Our dinner far exceeded our expectations-much better than what one would find at '4 star' chain hotels. There is also a seperate bar-and the bartender is GREAT! He seemed to know everyone in the place and was very friendly.

When we checked out the person at the desk mentioned that the hotel has been there for a long time and is owned by the University. That probably explains why it is so nice-instead of somebody trying to run it from a central office 100's of miles away the owners are right next door and keeping an eye on things!

Needless to say when I return to Athens I'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

This was my third stay at the OU Inn. The staff is always very helpful and professional. We always get room service for breakfast which is very reasonable and pretty good food. The room is always very clean and in good shape. Great location for walking uptown or to campus. Great deals out there on the Net too.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburbs of Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Our daughter now attends Ohio University. We have stayed at the Ohio University Inn four times as we visited the University for orientation and college visits. The grounds of the Inn are absolutely gorgeous - flowers everywhere - impeccably maintained grounds. The rooms are large, well-lit and the linens are excellent. Every inch of this facility is maintained to perfection - you won't see even a scrap of paper in a hallway. The staff is friendly and helpful. We will be visiting Athens often now that our daughter is a student there and we are so thankful that a wonderful property like the Ohio University Inn is available and so close to that beautiful camps.

  • Liked — It is so clean and well maintained
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains on the campus of Ohio University, The Ohio University Inn & Conference Center in Athens, Ohio is the only full service hotel in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.