We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant with Excellant Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ohio University Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant with Excellant Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Over the last four years we have stayed at the OU Inn probably a dozen times. If you are looking for a nice place to stay in Athens, I would recommend the OU Inn. This facility is a bit older than some, but it is well kept. Rooms are generally spacious enough. Some of the bathrooms are showing wear, but are always clean. The food is excellant. Try the Chopped Salad! The hotel staff are super and always accommodating. There is a laundromat next door if you need to do your college kid's laundry that has been building up for the last 3 months. This hotel sells out very quickly on special OU weekends, so plan ahead. Location is great, you can walk up to campus for games or activities in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: If you plan to come for a special weekend at OU or Move In or Out you will need to reserve a room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    64
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
62
20
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
HOMESTEAD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daughter and I found the hotel perfect for our last visit to decide to attend Ohio University. I have to believe that we will be visiting many times in the future due to it's pleasant and helpful staff and the convenience to the University.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel had great staff, great work out room, and very nice room. The layout is not the best for getting to some rooms so be prepared to use your map depending on which room you are in. I went for breakfast and ordered off the menu but they seemed to be quite short staffed so it took a long time to get my breakfast and I had to rush to eat so I could get to my meeting. If you are short on time, make sure to ask how long it will take or have the buffet instead. Location is very convenient to campus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is full service, with conference facilities and a nice restaurant with reasonable prices. Athens is isolated from other "metro" areas, so there are very few hotels from which to choose. This one appears to be an intentionally high quality property in light of the other choices. They were rennovating certain aspects when I stayed there, but much of the hotel seems already rennovated or very well kept.

Here are particular up-sides:
Bedding and furnishings are fresh and clean. The bathroom was absolutely spotless. The housekeeping staff obviously pay attention to detail. There were enough pillows on my king-size bed to build a pillow-fort! You get a shampoo, conditioner and lotion; as well as some nice soaps. My stay was quiet and restful. The courtyard area has some construction going on; regardless, there is a neat hangout area in the courtyard with this little gas-fire-bowl thingy. It's always nice to sit around a fire. Overlooking the courtyard, in addition to the well-appointed hotel rooms' balconies, is the restaurant. I didn't have dinner there, but the breakfast buffet was great- and they offer omlets and a full menu in addition to the buffet. With everything from fruit to eggs and bacon, anyone will be happy with the selections, I suspect. Also, if you are building your pillow fort and need to look up a youtube for instructions, they offer complimentary wifi access. The staff are very kind and patient. I overheard a telephone call with a very difficult customer, and the staff person was very patient and kind.

Weaknesses:
They are building a magnificent in-ground pool area in the already beautiful courtyard. I'm not sure it will be ready for summer, so I list it as a weakness- but you never know. Call ahead to see if it's open, if a pool is important to you.

To sum up, if I were coming here, this would be the first hotel I would check on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was here for an interview, the food was very good, the rooms very nice and overall a great stay. They staff was also extremely nice and they actually did care about assisting me. Overall a great experience.

GRA

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel was great right next door to the ridges and awesome. The food was amazing and the rooms were clean and the hotel has a very nice staff. I will stay again for sure....can't say enough good things about this place

Room Tip: Right next to the ridges and a quick 5 minute drive from court street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visit the Athens area often and have stayed at several hotels. The hotels in that area know you have no choice when you visit a student at the university and the accomodations show it. We were thrilled to stay at the O U Inn. The desk staff were pleasant, informative and very welcoming! The lobby and restaurant were clean and nice. Our room was clean, comfortable and very well taken care of! I can't recommend this place enough. My only regret was that it was winter and we couldn't take advantage of the beautiful patio and pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains on the campus of Ohio University, The Ohio University Inn & Conference Center in Athens, Ohio is the only full service hotel in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.