We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ohio University Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I just finished my third stay at the OU Inn.
My daughter is a student and this is by far the most convenient place to stay, just off campus. You don't have to deal with the hassle and expense of parking.
Check in is smooth. Employees are courteous. Room is very clean. Furniture is standard issue hotel furniture. Wireless is good. Bed and linens are very comfortable but pillow is just ok. Couch is pretty uncomfortable, very short from front to back and I'm 5'2". My room had a small balcony with 2 chairs overlooking the nice outdoor patio and pool area.
My only problem was that housekeeping was a little loud in the hall. I was awakened by them wanting to clean my room at around 9:30- my fault because I had not put out my do not disturb hang tag. I got up and hung my sign out. I was awake and staying up so it was not huge for me but they seemed to be standing right outside my door having a normal volume conversation (work related). The hotel seemed fairly empty when I stayed but does not seem particularly well sound proofed which might be a problem during busier times.
Got coffee from room service. Very quick.
Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    62
    15
    3
    5
See reviews for
57
20
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent, Very clean and service was excellent.. Hotel is a little dated, very clean and comfortable. Front desk very helpful. Plus good place to see the Football and Basketball coaches. Best Restaurant in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beds are soft and comfortable. We stayed on a Sunday night, so it was quiet and peaceful. The only hotel in walking distance to Ohio University.... which saved much time and money in the morning. Clean. Updated and by far my first choice in Athens.... everything else pales in comparison.

Room Tip: On a Sunday night-- all rooms are quiet.... on a Friday, you might try the back area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

in and out on a biz trip. got to hotel a bit early. room wasnt ready. i asked when it might be prepared - front desk checked with housekeeping - they gave me a time (about 1 hour) and it was ready as promised. nice sized rooms. clean, comfortable, and easy to work in. about the only negative is the small bar/lounge. not many seats - service is average at best. very convenient to the university or downtown and easy access to the main highways in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been staying here annually for a few nights for several years. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are a bit dated, and you have to be careful about your room location. Front desk staff a bit undertrained. Restaurant one of the better in Athens.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance. Discuss room location with reservations staff. Insist upon what was agreed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went there for a wedding last weekend and from looking at the pictures online I expected the rooms to feel old and musty due to the decorations. Turns out the hotel was much nicer than we thought. Newer bedding and updated bathrooms. The only disappointment was the wedding party had booked the suites many months in advance and the guests were suppose to be put in rooms near each other. For some reason the suite was not available and the rooms were all spread all over the hotel. Such ashame management did not keep their promise in reserving the suite. It was suppose to be a meeting place for any one from out of town. It was a major inconvenience.

Room Tip: Don't book a specific room here and all will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our room was large and clean, but nothing special. The location was great and the hotel has a nice pool and outdoor area with a fire pit. However, the price was high for a very basic room that could have used some updating. Dinner at Cutler's was very good as was the breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like there are many options for a nice hotel in Athens and we will likely stay here again in spite of the the average rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. It was nice for you to mention how clean and spacious our guestrooms were and that they met your needs while you were in town. I was also glad you could relax and enjoy the amenities we offer including our in-house Cutler's Restaurant, beautiful pool, outdoor patio and fire pit.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains on the campus of Ohio University, The Ohio University Inn & Conference Center in Athens, Ohio is the only full service hotel in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Despegar.com so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.