We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Ohio University Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com AMOMA.com
and 2 more sites!
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Athens
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Beds are soft and comfortable. We stayed on a Sunday night, so it was quiet and peaceful. The only hotel in walking distance to Ohio University.... which saved much time and money in the morning. Clean. Updated and by far my first choice in Athens.... everything else pales in comparison.

Room Tip: On a Sunday night-- all rooms are quiet.... on a Friday, you might try the back area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    47
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
17
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

in and out on a biz trip. got to hotel a bit early. room wasnt ready. i asked when it might be prepared - front desk checked with housekeeping - they gave me a time (about 1 hour) and it was ready as promised. nice sized rooms. clean, comfortable, and easy to work in. about the only negative is the small bar/lounge. not many seats - service is average at best. very convenient to the university or downtown and easy access to the main highways in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been staying here annually for a few nights for several years. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are a bit dated, and you have to be careful about your room location. Front desk staff a bit undertrained. Restaurant one of the better in Athens.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance. Discuss room location with reservations staff. Insist upon what was agreed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went there for a wedding last weekend and from looking at the pictures online I expected the rooms to feel old and musty due to the decorations. Turns out the hotel was much nicer than we thought. Newer bedding and updated bathrooms. The only disappointment was the wedding party had booked the suites many months in advance and the guests were suppose to be put in rooms near each other. For some reason the suite was not available and the rooms were all spread all over the hotel. Such ashame management did not keep their promise in reserving the suite. It was suppose to be a meeting place for any one from out of town. It was a major inconvenience.

Room Tip: Don't book a specific room here and all will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our room was large and clean, but nothing special. The location was great and the hotel has a nice pool and outdoor area with a fire pit. However, the price was high for a very basic room that could have used some updating. Dinner at Cutler's was very good as was the breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like there are many options for a nice hotel in Athens and we will likely stay here again in spite of the the average rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. It was nice for you to mention how clean and spacious our guestrooms were and that they met your needs while you were in town. I was also glad you could relax and enjoy the amenities we offer including our in-house Cutler's Restaurant, beautiful pool, outdoor patio and fire pit.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stay at the Inn when I come to campus to visit or pick-up my daughter. The service at the front desk is always pleasure and professional. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food and service in the Cutler restaurant is GREAT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Ohio University Inn and Conference Center for your visit to Athens and the Ohio University. It was nice to hear the front desk staff and our comfortable guestrooms meet your expectations. I'm sure your schedule was extremely busy while you were in town but glad you found time to enjoy our Award Winning Cutler's Restaurant. Thank you again - we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A Vacation retreat in Ohio? I was so pleasantly surprised by OUInn! In getting my youngest of five moved in for college at OU, from Pittsburgh, this Inn was such a surprise. I have come to learn that while visiting a "college-child", you are on their schedule and you had better be ready when they are.... this is the place for that. Selfishly, I found it provided me with the opportunity to relax when my daughter didn't need me (or my wallet), with a outside pool and patio area better than many Florida resorts. Further, being a bit athletic, it is adjacent to the superior walking trails that cover the entire OU campus and golf course... next time I am bringing my clubs... beautiful Par 3 course within walking distance. I was at my daughter's whim within 5 minutes. The staff was incredible...above and beyond my expectations and so friendly. Food was amazing and portions were huge. Rooms were perfect. Fitness center amazing. Guests were also so friendly ... most likely because they were as happy and relaxed as I. I am thinking of going there on my own just to relax and not telling my daughter I am even there..lol! Great place! Customer Service A++++++++. OUInn A+++++++.

Room Tip: Being a sun worshiper, I may request a pool side room when I visit again in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience in Athens and at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. It was exciting to hear that our Hotel and the Athens community met and exceeded your expectations in many ways. I bet it was really tough to leave your daughter in unfamilar territories but I'm glad you took advantage of relaxing and enjoying our amenities, great customer service, beautiful pool, patio and award wiining Cutler's Restaurant. Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit to Athens and the OU Inn. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Hotel
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens
Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains on the campus of Ohio University, The Ohio University Inn & Conference Center in Athens, Ohio is the only full service hotel in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.