We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in southeast ohio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ohio University Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“best place in southeast ohio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

in and out on a biz trip. got to hotel a bit early. room wasnt ready. i asked when it might be prepared - front desk checked with housekeeping - they gave me a time (about 1 hour) and it was ready as promised. nice sized rooms. clean, comfortable, and easy to work in. about the only negative is the small bar/lounge. not many seats - service is average at best. very convenient to the university or downtown and easy access to the main highways in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
66
20
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've been staying here annually for a few nights for several years. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are a bit dated, and you have to be careful about your room location. Front desk staff a bit undertrained. Restaurant one of the better in Athens.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance. Discuss room location with reservations staff. Insist upon what was agreed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went there for a wedding last weekend and from looking at the pictures online I expected the rooms to feel old and musty due to the decorations. Turns out the hotel was much nicer than we thought. Newer bedding and updated bathrooms. The only disappointment was the wedding party had booked the suites many months in advance and the guests were suppose to be put in rooms near each other. For some reason the suite was not available and the rooms were all spread all over the hotel. Such ashame management did not keep their promise in reserving the suite. It was suppose to be a meeting place for any one from out of town. It was a major inconvenience.

Room Tip: Don't book a specific room here and all will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our room was large and clean, but nothing special. The location was great and the hotel has a nice pool and outdoor area with a fire pit. However, the price was high for a very basic room that could have used some updating. Dinner at Cutler's was very good as was the breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, it doesn't look like there are many options for a nice hotel in Athens and we will likely stay here again in spite of the the average rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. It was nice for you to mention how clean and spacious our guestrooms were and that they met your needs while you were in town. I was also glad you could relax and enjoy the amenities we offer including our in-house Cutler's Restaurant, beautiful pool, outdoor patio and fire pit.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stay at the Inn when I come to campus to visit or pick-up my daughter. The service at the front desk is always pleasure and professional. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food and service in the Cutler restaurant is GREAT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Ohio University Inn and Conference Center for your visit to Athens and the Ohio University. It was nice to hear the front desk staff and our comfortable guestrooms meet your expectations. I'm sure your schedule was extremely busy while you were in town but glad you found time to enjoy our Award Winning Cutler's Restaurant. Thank you again - we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A Vacation retreat in Ohio? I was so pleasantly surprised by OUInn! In getting my youngest of five moved in for college at OU, from Pittsburgh, this Inn was such a surprise. I have come to learn that while visiting a "college-child", you are on their schedule and you had better be ready when they are.... this is the place for that. Selfishly, I found it provided me with the opportunity to relax when my daughter didn't need me (or my wallet), with a outside pool and patio area better than many Florida resorts. Further, being a bit athletic, it is adjacent to the superior walking trails that cover the entire OU campus and golf course... next time I am bringing my clubs... beautiful Par 3 course within walking distance. I was at my daughter's whim within 5 minutes. The staff was incredible...above and beyond my expectations and so friendly. Food was amazing and portions were huge. Rooms were perfect. Fitness center amazing. Guests were also so friendly ... most likely because they were as happy and relaxed as I. I am thinking of going there on my own just to relax and not telling my daughter I am even there..lol! Great place! Customer Service A++++++++. OUInn A+++++++.

Room Tip: Being a sun worshiper, I may request a pool side room when I visit again in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience in Athens and at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. It was exciting to hear that our Hotel and the Athens community met and exceeded your expectations in many ways. I bet it was really tough to leave your daughter in unfamilar territories but I'm glad you took advantage of relaxing and enjoying our amenities, great customer service, beautiful pool, patio and award wiining Cutler's Restaurant. Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit to Athens and the OU Inn. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Ohio University Inn on the evening of August 7 and it was one of the most satisfying hotel experiences I have had in a long time - and I travel A LOT. The person who handled my reservation could not have been more helpful and cordial and, when I arrived and during my stay, everyone was so helpful and always extremely pleasant. Mostly young people working there - OU students working for the summer, it appeared, and all were as nice as they could possibly be. Also, the restaurant was far and away the best place to eat in town and they handled my company employee dinner flawlessly. I highly recommend this location - and the cost made it an excellent bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio in the original section of the hotel have balconies so they offer the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OUInnGM, General Manager at Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Ohio University Inn & Conference Center. I'm pleased to hear that our friendly staff and wonderful facilities exceeded your expectations. I'm also glad you were able to dine and enjoyed our award winning restaurant, Cutler's.

Sincerely,

Ralph Mordocco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ohio University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohio University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 331 Richland Ave., Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohio University Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains on the campus of Ohio University, The Ohio University Inn & Conference Center in Athens, Ohio is the only full service hotel in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Ohio University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohio University Hotel Athens
Ohio University Inn And Conference Center
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohio University Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.