We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Business Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Clean hotel, comfortable bed, good location. I stayed for 4 days while traveling for business. I would stay here again.

Only issue was related to the missing 'do not disturb' sign. I asked at the front desk that they take one to my room and put it in the door(My room did NOT have one). The woman behind the desk took down my room number and assured me they would take care of it. When I returned it had not been done. I went down stairs and requested one. Another women asked in a very rude tone if I had checked the back of the door. I assured her I wouldn't be bothering her if it had been there. It was not necessary for her to make that comment. Give me the sign and be done with it.

Room Tip: A good location for the business traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
NeedSoftBed,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and bringing the "do not disturb" sign to our attention. We are sorry we didn't follow through as expected. Thanks to your review, we've implemented a policy that will prevent us from "forgetting" to deliver on our promises. I'm sorry you experienced this problem, but please know we've fixed it with your help. We can't thank you enough.
We do appreciate your visit to our hotel, and hope to see you again the next time you are in Athens. DJK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
23
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mainzer
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very clean, well maintained, and a nice sleep. The rooms are nice , new flat screen TVs, Showers were hot, plenty of towels, wash clothes and free soap. Cable TV was ok, use to satellite at home lacked some channels and guide was not up to date. Plenty of food for breakfast...eggs, bacon, rolls and cereal. Good hot coffee, juice and milk. I had a great stay and would stay here again. It was a higher priced stay but worth the money in my book..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Athens! If there's anything we can do to improve your last stay, or to make your future visits to our hotel an even better experience, please let us know! Thank you for being our guest this past weekend! We know you have a choice of hotels in the area, and we are honored you chose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is new or recently remodeled. It is very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room had a very comfortable bed and it, too, was very clean. The breakfast in the morning was very good. There is convenient access (walking distance) to a "chain" restaurant for lunch and dinner. Although there is a lack of choices as far as hotels in the area, the HIE is an easy and good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how we are doing! We appreciate your comments, and taking the time to let us know that you were satisfied with your stay. If there is anything we can do to make booking your next trip to Athens hassle free, please do not hesitate to let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is very nice. The only problem we faced was waiting for the front desk person to finish smoking outside the lobby before we could check in. Their was other people waiting as well. The beds are very comfortable. The room is very big and their is plenty of space to walk around in it. This hotel was a little bit more then the Baymount just down the street, but it was worth it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing, and what we can do to make your next stay even better. We are pleased you were satisfied with you stay, and letting us know about the slow check in process. We have reviewed your comments with our staff during our last meeting, and have a new policy in place to avoid situations like this in the future.
Once again, thank you for your comments and suggestions. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Ohio U orientation. Cancelled days inn reservation after reading their trip advisor reviews. Super 8 was not on the table due to horror stories. So HIE it was. Rate is high for HIE in small towns but lack of choice and quality near Athens makes this one of 3 to stay at. Still priced high IMHO.

Clean, quiet, very comfortable. Minor issues with shower but nothing to complain about. Good fridge and freezer. Pool very small. Breakfast is less than average in variety. Still OK. Have had better at other HIE. Plenty of parking, and 5 minute drive to Ohio U campus. Staff good. Housekeeping very good.

No 5-star marks, price keeps it under a solid 4. But very glad to have it as a choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, letting us know how we are doing, and what we can improve upon. We will take a look at our breakfast bar items to see if there's something we can add to make the selection a little more varied and delicious. We will also take a look at our pricing policy to insure we are in line with rates for our area during busy periods and special events.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. If we can do anything to help make your next visit to Athens a more enjoyable experience, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed there for the 4th of July holiday. My family and I have stayed here in the past and it was ok. It is very clear that this property has recently been upgraded and remodeled. It is very clean and everything looked great. I will warn all that we saw pets on all floors, so if you are allergic to pets you will want to let the front desk know ahead of time so you can avoid the furry friends. There is a dog park in the back yard of this property. The breakfast is typical HIE and everything was hot and as fresh as can be expected. The front desk is very helpful and friendly. I was very pleased for this stay and when we are back in Athens we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Contact the front desk at this location prior to arriving at this property and let them know whateve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJ K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel during your last visit to Athens. We know you have a choice of hotels in this area, and we are thrilled that you chose to stay with us. I'm pleased to know that you've noticed our improvements, and there are many more to come in the near future.
We do apologize for the inconvenience of having pets located on the upper floors. We've modified our policy to have all our "furry friends" on the ground level, and all rooms have been deep cleaned and refreshed to insure a nice hypoallergenic room for our guests who are sensitive to animals.
Once again, thank you for letting us know the areas you noticed could use improvement. Our only goal is to please each and every one of our guests, and without customer feedback, this wouldn't be possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

when i booked my room the note was for 2 queen beds. when i arrived i was greeted with 1 king and a "we can get you a roll away". not exactly what I had bargained for, that plus the robust room rate for summer in Athens left a bad taste in my mouth for this hotel. breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about. location isn't exactly ideal either, although a cab uptown only runs about 10-15 based upon the number of passengers. Im still impressed we got 7 people into a prius! the property is clean and didnt smell, so that's a plus. unlikely I'll stay here next time however, not many choices in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear RichardCFTM64,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We aim to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to read from our guests on how we are doing. I apologize that this visit was less than satisfactory for you due to the condition of the room you were given and breakfast not being completely up to standards. We will use your comments to improve our efforts.

Despite this, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Address: 555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.