We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Pemberton, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Chose this hotel over the Hampton Inn, Athens, mainly due to the attitude of the front desk staff. the guy at the Hampton Inn was rather snooty, while the ladies on the front desk at the HIE were incredibly warm and friendly. The price was almost the same, so we stayed at the HIE - and very glad we did.

The king room was a decent size, well decorated, with a modern bathroom. The bed itself was super comfortable and the choice between soft and firm pillows very welcome. The internet was fast but one small annoyance was the fact that the password had to be re-entered every so often.

The staff continued to be very helpful and the free breakfast was excellent - especially the pancake making machine!

The only real downside was the fact that the laundry facilities were out of order (the washer) which meant having to go up the road to do the washing (it was laundry day on a cross country motorcycle trip!)

Would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
37
23
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cold in ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having a son at Ohio University we have spent many nights at the area hotels. The Hampton Inn is usually our first choice but it was sold out this past weekend so we got a room at the Holiday Inn Express. It was nicer than I remembered having spend one night there last year. Comfy beds, big bathroom, quiet rooms though it was crowded, nice newer shower. They don't have a min-fridge like the Hampton does. The Holiday Inn Express is closer to the university and you are able to walk across the parking lot to a CVS and Applebees which is nice. We took off early in the morning so we didn't take part in the breakfast but these "free" breakfasts are never good for more than the coffee anyway in my opinion. The room had a coffeemaker.

Like others have said, the choices are limited in Athens especially on weekends with university events. This hotel should be one of your top choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Let's begin with the reality, the hotel market in Athens is pretty skimpy and there are not a lot of great choices. That said, we have been staying at this HIE for a few years and it has been a good location for us. It is close to the highway, the town, and the university which makes it convenient. One reviewer thought it was hard to find but I disagree, the hotel is clearly visible and while it is behind a CVS and an Applebee's you can see it and find it without much trouble. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast is good as long as you remember you are eating at the hotel and not at a fancy breakfast place. If I had any complaints they would be that the hotel can be noisy and there is minimal soundproofing, the A/C is noisy and the large rooms can be hard to control temperature in, and it is starting to wear a bit, particularly in the bathrooms and around the grout lines. But the staff is friendly and quite helpful and this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My family had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It is very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the room was huge for the price. We were amazed to have gotten such a good price on a great room like we had. And the FREE breakfast they offer, WOW!!! Couldn't believe it was free with all they had to choose from. A full hot breakfast every day and you can even take it back to your room if you like. I would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: The king suite is wonderful!! Huge room and very nice for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express while attending a wedding in Athens. It was very clean,. The breakfasts were very well prepared and quite good. The desk clerks were extremely helpful and wanted to make sure our stay was memorable. I would recommend this hotel highly! Very close to Ohio University as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in 3 HI Express locations back to back to back over the course of a three week period in July, 2012. This location was the nicest. It is well-kept and the bathroom appointments were of higher quality than the other two HI Express locations.
If time permits, check out the bike rentals on the property. You can access a 14 mile bike path just outside the hotel. You can also rent ATVs or arrange for zipline canopy tours in the nearby Hocking Hills from the same outfitter that handles the bike rentals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a long travel day. It was not easy to locate as it is set back fom the road and share an entry off the main road with other properties. This looks to be a fairly new facility, and was very clean; the front desk staff arriving was pleasant and helpful, but the morning checkout person was fairly grumpy. Although the room was nice, clean, and comfortable, there was an odor on entering, which smelled like new commercial carpet, cleaning solution, or pool chemicals. It was apparent in the entrance way, lobby, less in the halls, and not in the room. The breakfast was OK, but generic. A plus for this property is that one can walk across the parking lot to an Appleby's which give a 10% discount to hotel guests. Hotl price too much for what you get, though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Address: 555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.