We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Athens
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Solid Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in 3 HI Express locations back to back to back over the course of a three week period in July, 2012. This location was the nicest. It is well-kept and the bathroom appointments were of higher quality than the other two HI Express locations.
If time permits, check out the bike rentals on the property. You can access a 14 mile bike path just outside the hotel. You can also rent ATVs or arrange for zipline canopy tours in the nearby Hocking Hills from the same outfitter that handles the bike rentals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
23
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville KY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a long travel day. It was not easy to locate as it is set back fom the road and share an entry off the main road with other properties. This looks to be a fairly new facility, and was very clean; the front desk staff arriving was pleasant and helpful, but the morning checkout person was fairly grumpy. Although the room was nice, clean, and comfortable, there was an odor on entering, which smelled like new commercial carpet, cleaning solution, or pool chemicals. It was apparent in the entrance way, lobby, less in the halls, and not in the room. The breakfast was OK, but generic. A plus for this property is that one can walk across the parking lot to an Appleby's which give a 10% discount to hotel guests. Hotl price too much for what you get, though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This place is great for travelling with a dog. There is a full blown Dog Park located behind the hotel. The hotel also had doggie doo doo bags at the exits. The breakfast is great, the only problem with the place is that the pool was overchlorinated and the pool bottom was delaminiating from the basin. Other than that, it was great and I love the fact I could bring my dog. They said there was a 40 lb max on the website but I called and they didn't have a problem with my Lab.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor with a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you haven't already noticed, the hotel market in Athens Ohio is pretty jacked up in the first place. The Holiday Inn has one of the highest prices in town yet falls short of what you might get for the same price in any other city in Ohio. Decor in the hotel is nice and modern and looks pretty much like every other Holiday Inn. The rooms are VERY basic and have just what you need to get by, (I wouldn't try any extended stay trips here, rooms don't even have a mini fridge).
All in all, I would stay here again simply because there are so few options in Athens and this property is the only one with at least a little bit of class. Still, don't expect any extras or suprises.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

At check in all was smooth, we were reserved for 2 nights. Breakfast was decent. Left for the day. When we came back our card wouldn't open the door. Went to the front desk and because of some error stood there for 20-30 minutes for them to figure out. Not happy with this one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear rjc3871,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered about the key card. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here end of July and it was up to the standards one expects. You have to pay for that reliability as a king was $133.00 a night . Stayed 2 nights for a family reunion in Athens and was always comfortable. If I would offer any advice to them it would be to upgrade their breakfasts. Although they are complimentary , for a $133.00 i expected better grub. Bob Evans is nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in this HIE before and found it to compare to most other hotels. This time, the elevator was broken. We had a difficult time getting our family (2 of whom have difficulty climbing stairs) moved down to a floor lower than the 3rd floor. We checked in at 4 and didn't quite understand why this had to be negotiated. There was significant noise above us once we did get moved. Breakfast was standard and well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Pearldiver19,

Thank you for you review. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that the elevator was out of service during your stay as well as with the disturbance caused by noise and the check in issues you encountered. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience it caused you. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Address: 555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.