We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Athens
cold in ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed one night while moving son in to Ohio University. Usually stay at the Hampton Inn but it was full. Our stay was fine.

PROs: Friendly front desk; walking distance to CVS and Applebees. Comfortable bedding and towels. Clean.

CONS: lame breakfast - not fruit, no boxed cereal. Loud a/c. Terrible TV.

Not a bad 2nd choice if the Hampton is full as there are few good choices in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
23
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed overnight on the way back home from a class reunion. The staff was very welcoming, the rooms were clean and inviting. Local restaurants very convenient! Will definitely stay there again and would like to check out the local area, as well!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Having visited my alma mater after almost 20 years after my last court street shuffle, its good to see a few more hotel options in Athens. This hotel is fairly new (as is a Hampton Inn not too far down the road). Its consistent with other mid level hotels like HXI and Hamptons. Its location is about a mile and a half from downtown Athens.

The room was fine, bedding was average. Everything was clean and in good condition. Breakfast was good and generic like one would expect. Grab a yogurt and head to Bob Evens about a quarter mile away if you want something better.

The fitness room was weak a out of commission cardio machine, recumbent, and treadmill , but there is a great running path on the Hocking river not far from the hotel, do that over the treadmill.

Downsides: The walls were very thin, I heard a lot of noise from the adjacent rooms. More than I expected. Second, the hotel is very near a water treatment plant, so you can expect some aroma depending on the breeze.

Front desk staff was very friendly.
All in all, its a good option in Athens Oh, could be better but being that its Athens, 'better' is relative as the options are sparse.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This location is okay, but not what I have come to expect of Holiday Inn Express. The room was very clean, and the amenities were top quality--| would have liked to have a micorwave and refrigerator, maybe at least an alarm clock--these are things I have come to expect from much cheaper chains. However, the service was excellent and the breakfast was top notch. Pancakes, waffles, omelets, sausage, great hot items as well as the usual sugar-coated goodies that everyone else offers. My big problem was with the quality of the bed. It was VERY soft--not the usual HI quality. The mattress seemed rather lumpy and worn--perhaps it was just time to replace it. As for the pillows, I could tell not difference between the ones labeled "firm" and "soft." They all seemed to have the consistency of a mud puddle. After two nights in this place, my back is still recovering. As a basic shelter, the room was comfortable and clean. As a Holiday Inn, I find it falling short of my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I (early 50's) were planning a weekend trip to Hocking Hills State Park. Everything in Logan, OH was booked solid, so we chose this hotel in Athens about 26 miles away (based on Trip Advisor recommendations of course!) I was surprised at how nice this hotel was. The staff was energetic and accommodating. Our room was spacious, clean, and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. Looked new! Even the breakfast buffet (included) was decent (bacon, eggs, pancakes, cereal, breads, ...). We took one of our evening to explore Athens a small quaint college town in Appalachia. Would highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora CO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

What a pleasant greeting we got from Meghan Lehman!! A big smile (and a goody bag for being Priority Club members). There was one glitch -- we'd requested a microwave and fridge (we booked online, not through the motel) and there were none in our room. Meghan was determined to make it right. She found them and cheerfully brought them to our room -- again with a big smile. This gal deserves a big raise. On this road trip we've stayed at 7 motels and this is the nicest so far. The room is a little narrow, but very adequate and nicely decorated. Very clean. Great bathroom -- nicely sized and nice little niches for towels and soaps! Choice of soft or firm pillows. Large breakfast area -- Pancakes, ham and little Western omelets, French toast and waffles to heat, plus the usual breads cereals, etc. I can't remember what else, but you won't go away hungry. There are also a lot of restaurants within walking distance. Pet friendly with huge park with walking paths and plenty of benches to sit and enjoy the surroundings. (There are also "Poopy Pouches" at the motel entrances.) Would definitely stay here again. Most expensive room so far but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

It's hard to be completely objective about this review because we stayed during graduation weekend when prices more than TRIPLE on rooms here. However, all the hotels in college towns do that, and if you don't like it, sleep in your car, I guess. In my opinion, the Hampton Inn is nicer overall. The BAD: Slowest elevator on earth. You could read a novel waiting for it. The weekend we stayed, the pool was broken. No accommodation on our bill was offered for this inconvenience (esp. with the younger teens/kids who were excited about this since we don't have one at home). The room itself had spots all over the carpet that look like they were unprofessionally scrubbed. The bathroom has the usual problem of no ventilation so when several people take a morning shower, the steam has nowhere to go but to waft around the room. The furniture looks a bit banged up, and there were gouges out of the door to our room. Blankets/quilts are NOT warm enough if you have on the A/C and there were no extras. The GOOD: Nice breakfast, including eggs. Not the usual carbfest you get at some places. Beds are exceedingly comfortable. Room has a microwave and fridge and even a kitchen cabinet to store a few things in plus an iron and board. Hotel has a nice looking lobby. Free parking, very nicely landscaped. We may stay here happily again when prices are normal and we have recovered from paying the Visa bill for this weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator - noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens

Address: 555 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home with Holiday Inn Express Athens Ohio. This choice Athens, OH hotel is nestled in the Appalachian Mountains and is perfect for your leisure or business travel needs. Let our professional and friendly staff make your stay enjoyable in our brand new facility. We know you'll fee at home with us. Families will enjoy their stay at this Athens, Ohio hotel, located in one of the most haunted towns in America. Our hotel is close to several haunted attractions including Mt. Nebo, the Koons Spirit Room, the Ridges Cemetery and Old Lunatic Asylum. Our smoke-free hotel is conveniently located near Athens' attractions including the Dairy Barn Arts Center, Fur Peace Ranch, Stuart's Opera House and The Kennedy Museum of Art. Located one mile from Ohio University, our hotel is great for corporate travels. We offer easy access to U.S. Hwy 33 and 50. Columbus OH, Cincinnati and Pittsburgh are within one to three hours by car. Ohio University is one mile and Hocking College is ten miles away. O'Bleness Hospital, Diagnostics Hybrids and Health Recovery Services are each 2 miles from us. Kerr Distributing is 15 miles away. In addition, we offer a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access to our guests. Stay Smart in our lovely Athens, OH hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, a large indoor pool with a spa, and a new fitness center. Let our hotel in Athens be your home in Athens on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.