We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Athens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Athens to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Athens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   986 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points w/Your Stay!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United States
1 review
“clean and comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The front desk staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. The rooms very spacious, clean and fresh smelling. The cleaning staff we respectful. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast kept everything filled and very clean. The only negative thing I could say was that the mattresses were very comfortable but they would slide to the side of the box spring. All 3 beds had the same problem. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
99
45
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Our stay at the Hampton Inn in Athens, Ohio was very enjoyable. The room was excellent as well as the other amenities. We enjoy having breakfast before we start our day with our daughter. We are repeat customers and enjoy our stays at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is very nice and clean. The beds are very comfortable with a lot of pillows. The complimentary breakfast was awesome! Lots to choose from! They even had bags of "on the go" breakfast so if you didn't have time to sit & eat you could grab a bag and go! Very unique idea.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our night at the Hampton Inn in Athens was generally good. The hotel is set well back from the road, so there was no problem with any noise from outside the hotel, nor did we hear any noise from inside. Our room was huge, at least double the size of a regular room, with 2 beds, desk, sofa, chair, wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, and still plenty of extra space. The only problem was the sink was in the bedroom, so using it at night meant most likely waking up the other person in the room. Also there was no electrical outlet in the bathroom, so couldn’t plug in a nightlight. The exercise room was basic, but had modern equipment in good condition. Wireless worked well. Breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn fare. Staff was friendly. Overall it was a good stay and I’d likely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Clean but somewhat dated rooms. The guy behind the counter printed out some alternate routes for my destination without me asking. Nice! Right on the main road out of town so no driving all over the place to get back on the highway.. The food was good but the bed was tired and the TV remote didn't work. Looks like they are in the middle of a remodel. needs it. over all still a great deal...



  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stopped here one night on a long road trip and I wasn't expecting to love the hotel, but I did. Even at 11pm the staff was extremely courteous and friendly. The room was large and spacious and the furniture was nice. The bed was very comfortable as well, we slept like babies. Breakfast was much more than we expected and everything was hot and plentiful. Even with a stay of less than 24 hours I was impressed! If we ever travel this way again, I would MOST DEFINITELY return, as this hotel exemplifies what I have come to love about Hampton Inn & Suites. I almost wanted to come up with a reason to stay another night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is very modern, clean, and the staff was very accommodating! The breakfast was beyond fabulous and it was great to end our day with a dip in the hot tub! We spent the day ziplining so it was great to know we had a comfortable place to return to after a day of activity! I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Athens

Address: 986 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Athens, Oh hotel is located conveniently near Ohio University and adjacent to the business district and the Market on State shops. Enjoy free hot breakfast and Wi-Fi during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Athens Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.