We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purple Chopstix

Purple Chopstix
371 1/2 Richland, Athens, OH
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 107 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: American, Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delightfully delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Family and friends enjoyed a wonderful evening at this soecial place. Everything was excellent. The Greek Pizza appetizer was superb. Atmosphere makes you smile! Families welcome. BYO Wine and they will have an opener and glasses. Just great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is NOT an Asian restaurant. The food was fantastic in presentation and extremely flavorful, the service was even better and the ambiance was great. I was totally surprised by the menu variation. Sushi appetizer was absolutely wonderful. I will be back maqny times now that we have found this jewel in wonderful Athens.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quirky place with wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been to the Purple Chopstix many times. My husband and I love to go there and we take visitors there, too. Why do we like it? Well, first, it is so unusual; the decor is sort of early attic with artwork from PassionWorks creating an almost fantasy-like atmosphere. The food is really good and there are a number of vegetarian options, which my husband likes. Another thing we like is that you can bring our own wine and I don't think there is a corking fee, either. The wait staff is very cheerful about bringing a corkscrew or wine cooler. There aren't many options on the menu, but we have tried almost all of them, and yes, I would say that the meals have been among the best I have ever had. Try the seafood crepes--so good. The prices are about average--$14-$22 per entree. I just love to go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Different, but All around Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A cute different tape of restaurant, That of Course you would find in this small unique town.
If you don't want a chain restaurant, and you want out of your comfort zone. This is the place. BYOB, with no glass fee! Parking in the bank across the street, All helpful to know before hand.
Passion works art is everywhere, The food is great! The severs are very friendly and efficient. I will be going back on the regular!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Odd but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Don't be confused by the name, this place is not Asian. Their menu is eclectic and the dishes are real globe-trotters (red curry with rice & beans and pita bread -- huh?), but everything comes together and the food is delicious. The service, however is SLOW, so be warned.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Chopstix also viewed

 

Been to Purple Chopstix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purple Chopstix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.