We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Excellent food, Terrible decor/ambiance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zoe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zoe
24 1/2 East State, Athens, OH
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 106 restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Athens, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent food, Terrible decor/ambiance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location in Uptown Athens is nice - away from all the chains on E. State Street. The food here is very good to even excellent and reasonably priced. But everything about the inside is cheap, drab, and depressing which leads to the place having zero atmosphere. Absolutely no character at all, which is a shame because again, the food is good. The chairs are dreadfully uncomfortable, tables covered with sheets of white paper instead of actual table cloths, and bathrooms that haven't changed since the place was a bar. Menus were simply xerox copies of paper. Dessert menus were just the bottoms of the full menus, cut off with scissors. There are cheap chandeliers hanging precariously from long cords from a high ceiling that look oddly out of place. Walls were depressingly dingy and plain. I guess when you choose to drop $20-$30+ for a dinner, you expect some sort of atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    14
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Va
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wonderful place in downtown Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Zoe's is a great place in downtown Athens, OH Every Tues night they have price glass and bottles of wine and on Awed they have a great Bar experience with Mixology. owner is often present , good menu, consistent main entrees of wood planked salmon, and duel filets. Best sald is the chopped!! great starter is the crab cake trio! Most wait staff is good, but have had some newbies that could use some work! !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
“waitress not good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I will begin by saying the food was better than the service, by far. However, the crepe was more like an omelet and the soup special was thick and inappropriate for summertime. Along with that the bread servings needed to be asked for and anything more than two very small half slices were considered "extra." The service was slow for a two-thirds filled restaurant and it took 45 minutes to be served. The waitress we had had a chip on her shoulder and made one of my dinner companions feel bad for not ordering an appetizer and so finally he did. Our waitress preferred to talk behind the bar versus waiting on tables. Very disappointing experience and would think twice before returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Zoe is worth a visit if you're interested in delicious food. Their menu was varied and had several appealing options. When we were there in late June, there were a couple of different themed nights (half price wines on Tuesday and tapas-style plates on another day, if I recall correctly). The atmosphere was sparse and may be the one aspect of the dining experience that could use some enhancing. However, if you want great food, I don't think you'll go wrong with this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A great restaurant in Athens, Ohio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am a food snob and we always end up eating in the same restaurant when in Athens - Casa Nuevo. But that has ended because last night we found a gem of a place to eat dinner when we are there. The food is simply amazing and the people are so nice. I had a fabulous crepe with portabella mushrooms, asparagus and shrimp and I nearly licked the plate it was so good. My partner in crime had maybe the best chicken paprikash I have tasted and I've eaten it many times in Cleveland where real Hungarians live. The sauce was perfect and the noodles were thin homemade layers of heaven. I thought about stealing his plate after I tasted the sauce and noodles - it was that good. The bread was homemade and excellent quality and the desserts were wonderful. All this and it was quite reasonable - entrees $14 - $19. I liked the way the server explained the specials for the evening giving the price of each one. I can't wait to go back and try something else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoe also viewed

 

Been to Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.