We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt a little unsafe...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Economy Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Economy Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Economy Inn & Suites
2329 North Ridge East, Ashtabula, OH 44004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Ashtabula B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Felt a little unsafe...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel still uses actual keys for the doors, which operate the only lock. As I'm a musician and I was traveling with my (very expensive) instrument, I ended up blocking the door with a chair. There was no breakfast, I had to steal WiFi from the gas station next door, and someone got arrested in the parking lot as I was checking out. Ooh, and the office smelled like curry. (That part was actually good.)

That being said, I got a cheap, clean room with no notice. The room itself was totally fine. One bed, decent cable, a fridge/microwave combo, and a bathroom that worked. For a place to stay in the middle of a road trip, it worked perfectly. I wouldn't recommend it if you're planning on spending more than eight hours there, though.

Room Tip: Don't bring your valuables...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    1
    9
See reviews for
1
2
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mayfield heights, ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i have stayed in many motels. this one was horrible and overpriced. 2 people, 1 chair, no tables, bed was terrible. paying over 30.00 was too much.worst place i ever stayed in. do not book a room here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

THE OWNER IS NEVER AVAILABLE. I had to call them 5 times and they still refused to credit my account. I booked through Hotels .com. I finally had to contact my credit-card co to get this resolved.
THE BEDS ARE HARD AS A ROCK!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked our room over a month in advance. We had planned to just sleep the night and keep travelling through. Their website thought we were checking the night we booked and charged us. When I called, they offered to write "PAID" on the bill so we'd be all set when we got there. We got there and it was ridiculous. You check in from behind police glass and the guy in front of us was getting a money order. My husband asked to use the restroom and they didn't have any. Their lobby area is a small 6x6 space surrounded by police glass. When she looked us up she just stared at our check in sheet for like 3 solid minutes and then told us she didn't have our room. The one we had booked a month before. Someone had been staying there for 3 weeks and they were still there. We told her we wanted a refund and we were going elsewhere. She told us the night manager would issue the refund and it would be on our card in 7-14 days. 3 weeks later, still nothing.

She did tell us there was a full sized room we could have. I would have hoped that by staring at the sheet so long that she would have picked up that it was 2 adults and a child. We politely declined. She could not have cared less about any of this.

Seriously, go anywhere else. We ended up driving a couple more minutes and stayed at America's Best Value Inn on the Ashtabula/Austinburg line. Best choice ever. The owner was at the front desk in the morning to check us out. She and her husband operate it with a small staff. Go there instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Do not stay at this motel. It is filthy and disgusting. The bedspread had, and I counted, 12 huge cigarette burns on it. There was a pair of mens underwear on the floor in my room, along with several hairs on the pillow, that were not mine. It had obviously not been cleaned. There is no kind of lock, other than a simple turn lock on the very budget doorknob. No chain, no bolt. The shower rod is hung backwards, curving in rather than out. The towels were so old, you could practically see through them. The carpet was filthy and the walls were stained with big brown drips of...puke? blood? The worst place I have ever stayed.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I am very upset with the Economy Inn and Suites which I reserved over this past weekend for 1 night consisting of July 3-4 ,it was not a smoking room which I booked for .

I found no safety lock on the door ,someone had not cleaned the bath room sink and hair was found in the sink,the bowed shower curtain holder was on backwards and it bowed into the shower instead of holding the shower curtain out wards,one of the bed spreads still had the stickers on it when it was purchased from the store ,the sticker said full size and to beat everything else which disgusted us to no end early Sunday morning when we awoke I pulled the dresser drawer open and found a half eaten sub sandwich which was still in the wrapper which was purchased from the Sheetz gas station right next to the hotel and the opened wrapper from a condom ,there was no condom in the wrapper but the wrapper was still in the dresser drawer.

We called the management which they came into our room and showed them these discrepencies and nothing was done about it ,not even an apology was giving to us or some type of discount .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Economy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn & Suites

Address: 2329 North Ridge East, Ashtabula, OH 44004
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ashtabula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Economy Inn and Suites in Ashtabula, Ohio. We offer clean, comfortable accommodations that feature one queen bed, one double bed, one king bed, one king bed with jacuzzi, one king bed with kitchenette, and two double beds. Ample amenities and excellent services guarantee a pleasant stay. Our terrific location provides divine attractions that are easy to get to such as Ashtabula Mall, Geneva on the Lake, and Lakeshore Park. Plus we are incredibly close to several fine dining establishments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Economy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn & Suites Ohio/Ashtabula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Economy Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.