We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but funky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Edge-O-Town Motel

Edge-O-Town Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashtabula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edge-O-Town Motel
Save
You added Edge-O-Town Motel to your Saves list
2328 North Ridge East, Route 20, Ashtabula, OH 44004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashtabula
Akron
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean but funky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Sure it's very clean and (somewhat) inexpensive, but it's also old and weirdly decorated. The outdoor lighting cannot be blocked by the curtains, so bring a sleep mask. And hope that you and your neighbor are watching the same channel on the TV because you WILL hear it. Loudly. And when they take a shower it sounds like a jet engine in your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, Missouri
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We searched on TA and with some trepidation selected this low-priced motel for an overnight on our way to Niagara/Lockport, NY. What a charming place!! After making reservations by iPhone on our way when we drove I the little motel was rank with charm. Clean and well kept was our first thought as we drove in, a beautiful fountain-garden area in the center of the old time L shaped rooms. A courteous check in with what proved to be excellent restaurant recommendation was followed by our super-clean convenient room. Hey, it ain't the Ritz BUT for the price and need. GO !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I rated this as "average" because it offers basic accommodations. This motel is just off of I 90 and close enough to many "touristy" spots on Lake Erie. The room was spotless; and Diane, the housekeeper, takes great pride in her ability to keep the rooms clean. Did not notice the noise factor that others mentioned, but the absence of a coffee maker was very noticeable. However, that being said -there are convenient options for coffee, meals, and snacks.

The location is close to Deb's Diner, (which serves up an excellent breakfast menu), next door to McDonalds and just a block or two away from Sheetz.

The bed was comfortable and window shades block out most of outdoor lighting. Just be aware that the bathroom is extremely small by today's standards. Our room had a shower but no tub. To give more insight, you probably would not like to use the tiny, individually wrapped soap - so bring your own.

Equipping the room with a reclining vinyl chair, a round table, a small microwave, and a fridge make up for the lack of a coffee maker. A fold out rack makes storing luggage easy and the 3 drawer dresser keeps clothes organized.

We had room 7 which was lodged in between the laundry/housekeeping storage room and room 8. This motel has 14 rooms and about 3-4 little apartments to rent by the month. The price is certainly affordable, but don't expect this motel to mimic the standards of Holiday Inn or Sheraton. You get a nice room for about 1/2 price of those chains, so you get less than half of the amenities offered by larger hotels.

The coke machine outside door 7 offers limited beverage selections, but for $1.50 - it's a better value than spending more money for more variety. No snack machines, but remember - Sheetz is only about a block away.

The window air conditioner was a bit noisy with no thermostat to control the temperature. If you can block out the constant "hum" it makes, then you would appreciate this economic hotel.
Sorry I don't have any pictures to post of this motel. However, the outside looks exactly like the pictures posted.

Edge-O-Town Motel is definitely one that I would stay at again.

Room Tip: If you like a room on the end with a queen size bed, I would ask for room 14. Room seven is a bit l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dellroy, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's old but they keep it up pretty decent on what appears to be a low budget. The staff seemed pretty nice and the location is close to anything you would need as far as shopping and eating. Close to the main road so it's a little noisy at times, but I slept right though it. About 65 bucks a night to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean, good bedding, reasonable value. Room, tv and furniture somewhat dated, large, with microwave, refrigerator but no coffeemaker. Well maintained. Shower next door was noisy but no other noise was noticeable. Utilitarian choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice old fashioned motel, gives you that home away from home feeling (like the sign sais)( a bit the 66 feeling too) rooms are clean and comfy, the motel has a nice layout with enough parking space, a Mc Donalds next door and other restaurants nearby, if we ever come in this area again, we know where to go .........

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edge-O-Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edge-O-Town Motel

Address: 2328 North Ridge East, Route 20, Ashtabula, OH 44004
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ashtabula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Edge-O-Town Motel Ohio/Ashtabula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edge-O-Town Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.