We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate to share this..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peggy's Bed & Breakfast

Peggy's Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashtabula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peggy's Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Peggy's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
8721 Munson Hill Road, Ashtabula, OH 44004   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashtabula
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I hate to share this..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

But this place is wonderful! Very cozy and just perfect! We went up in the winter when there was at least a foot and half of snow.. It's just a wonderful place. The bed was awesome, I never slept so good. We opted not to have the breakfast served, as to be honest, we felt like it would put Peggy out to have to do so in such weather. I have heard though that it is much more than anyone can eat in a sitting! (from a friend of mine that went up and had the breakfast). The stove is "antique like" which added charm for us. The little whimsical details that Peggy adds just makes you smile. Like the troll under the steps :) .. what a wonderful place to get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We picked out Peggy's Bed and Breakfast due to the setting, privacy, and promise of a unique breakfast experience. We were not disappointed. The B&B is beautiful, with gardens and woods to match. We had the whole cottage to ourselves. There was an amazing amount of information about local attractions, restaurants, etc., and we went to a restaurant that was superb.
Peggy brought breakfast on a tray to our cottage in the morning - and did it to order (brought what we asked for). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed two nights at Peggy's B&B while visiting the covered bridges and wineries in the Ashtabula area." Cute," " cute" was my wife's comments upon arriving and checking out the cottage. You know the old saying "If Momma is happy ,we are all happy", well it applies here. Peggy's is not a traditional B&b but a cottage that is fully equipped. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is served on the porch and the while we only ate breakfast one time it was excellent. We would definitely recommend especially for a romantic getaway. Oh and by the way "It was really cute"!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family and I stayed just for one night as a stop on a trip. The cabin was beautiful, so well organized, and had an unreal attention to details. All the creature comforts and amenities you would find in a major hotel chain plus restaurant and attraction recommendations, books, movies, etc. The homemade breakfast in the morning was delicious and really made our experience wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

You won't believe your luck when you stay at Peggy's B and B. A unique property (tiny little stand alone house--you have it all to yourself--host lives next door) and the most gracious, friendly, cool host ever. Peggy has set up this B and B with everything to make you comfortable and cozy. Her breakfasts are truly gourmet. She gives you a wide selection of very original dishes which you select the night before and then at the hour you choose, Peggy walks done to your little house with your freshly prepared breakfast tucked into a basket on her arm. You can eat your breakfast either on the screened in porch (surrounded by Peggy's beautiful gardens) or inside in the kitchenette. I've stayed here twice--the first time with a small group of women friends and the second time just last week with my husband. By the second visit I felt like Peggy and I were old friends (but I should add that Peggy has great people sense and has an intuitive sense of how friendly guest want to be. She is NOT cloying!) Both times we were en route from Boston to Cleveland and wanted to find something outside of , but still relatively convenient to the city. Each time we used Peggy's as a one night stop over, but I can see how ideal this would be for a long weekend relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you are in Ashtabula County and want to stay somewhere memorable this is it. You will be impressed with this place. The fact that you have your own stand alone cottage (not a series of cottages, this is it!) is awesome by itself. Add the peaceful surroundings, whimsical and tasteful decor, breakfast options suited for royalty, cleanliness and quiet and you have a winner! Peggy is an awesome cook. She could easily be a chef. The breakfasts are fresh, hearty, homemade and delicious. The price is great too. My husband and I go every year to refresh even though we only live 20 minutes away! In your free time, take a driving tour of the county's covered bridges, visit the many worthy wineries (if you like dry wines, try: Harpersfield Winery- Cab Franc or Fut de Chene, South River Winery- Karma, The Winery at Spring Hill- Chardonnay) go prize fishing in the Conneaut Creek or Lake Erie, do some shopping in Ashtabula on Bridge Street in the Harbor, eat awesome gourmet food in Conneaut at Tarsitano Winery, or spend a day at the beach at the well maintained Conneaut Township Park.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were lucky enough to find this B&B-a last minute cancellation gave us the chance to spend a night there. On checking in, you are invited to pick your breakfast from a collection of yummy dishes; each person selects their own! The cottage is tucked away in the woods, quiet, secluded, lovely inside. Breakfast was served on the closed in, heated porch. Other reviews mention all of the amenities, full kitchen, loft bedroom with fabulous pillows and coverlets. It poured rain most of the time we were there so we didn't get to explore the long bike trail nearby; Peggy has bikes to offer. Sadly, we had to spend our time at wineries and exploring the many covered bridges...There are also movies at the cottage and games to try. Lake Erie is about ten minutes away with lots to offer there. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peggy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peggy's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8721 Munson Hill Road, Ashtabula, OH 44004
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ashtabula
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Peggy's Bed & Breakfast Ohio/Ashtabula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peggy's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.