We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, But Be Careful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashtabula
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, But Be Careful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were in Ashtabula to bury a long-term dear friend. The staff, particularly housekeeping, couldn't have been more understanding and helpful, particularly when the funeral arrangements pushed us into a late check-out. They even helped us find dinner after a late Sunday arrival. The staff made our difficult situation much more tolerable. The room, the comfort, the breakfast were all up to the usual and expected level of excellence for this franchise. It was the personal attention to detail that raised it even higher. However, if you use a credit card, be mindful that the hotel puts a transitional hold on that card; that hold has lasted over two weeks now and we get no response from customer service about why. It's led us to cancel future Holiday Inn Express reservations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
19
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TOLEDO
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It is located right off 90 so it is easy to get to. The hotel looks to be very new or very recently updated. The rooms are very nice and the bedding is super comfortable. The rooms are also impecably clean. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly. This hotel is definitely worth checking out if you are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pettit1974, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank You for the feedback!! We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean hotel that was well located just of the interstate. Recent remolding looks great and breakfast was good. I would recommend for great overnight visit or if you need some business location. This hotel does have a great indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby, OH
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked the hotel over the phone with the 800# because we were without electricity at home due to superstorm Sandy, and looking for something reasonably close where we could use our free night certificate from the Priority Club VISA. The reservationist took the time to call the hotel to confirm the hotel was in an area with power, and then call me back on our cell phone, which I appreciated, since our cellphone was running low on battery.

The hotel was helpful too. After explaining our situation, they agreed to give us a lower rate if we needed to stay over an additional night. Although we re-charged our cellphone at the hotel, we were running low on minutes, and the front desk clerk volunteered to lend me his while I made calls to determine if the power was restored to know if we were checking out or staying on another night. How nice!

The hotel has some attractive landscaping in front -- presently including Halloween decorations, giving it better than average appearance, but it was the "can do" attitude that we really appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I picked this hotel as it is between Eyrie and Cleveland and made a good stop off point on a road trip.

The rooms are clean and modern with comfortable bed and a chair. Breakfast uses those hateful expanded polystyrene plates and bowls that seem to be endemic in US hotels, but the food was good and plentiful.

WiFi was reasonably fast and the signal was strong both in my room (which was near the end of the hotel) and in the lobby / breakfast area.

Overall highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel is located about mid-way between Cleveland, OH and Erie, PA on Rt. 45. The front desk staff are personable and helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious, the beds are comfortable and the hotel quiet. You can look forward to a hot breakfast including, scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, waffles, pancakes, a variety of cereal, sweet rolls and juice. The coffee urns are well tended and available day and night. There is a Denny's across the street that is open 24/7. However, you'll be in for a treat if you turn left on Rt. 45 and cross over the bridge. You find an excellent family-owned restaurant named Quinn's which boasts a variety of appetizers, sandwiches, entrees and desserts (try it out!).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros: Close to interstate & comfortable bed
Cons: Cigarette smoke permeates the hotel and even in my supposed smoke-free room. Dirty/sticky carpet in the room. Close to gas stations but no restaurants. Wireless didn't work and front desk staff didn't care except talking to her friends. Their list of restaurants included Wendy's and Subway but did not mention the awesome steakhouse 1 exit over in Geneva called Chops. For a Holiday Inn Express, which are usually great, even with business discount I thought $125 (incl. tax) was a ripoff

So if you smoke and like fast food and crappy hotel service, this is the place for you. Otherwise I'm not coming back.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Address: 1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashtabula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashtabula offers the finest accommodations in the Ashtabula area. Easily accessible, the Holiday Inn Express is located just off I-90, at exit 223. The Holiday Inn Express is between Erie and Cleveland, with Erie being 45 minutes east, and Cleveland being 50 minutes west. Cleveland Hopkins Airport is also only 45 miles away. The Holiday Inn Express is located 45 miles from the Presque Isle Downs, near Erie, which offers horse racing and slot machine gambling. We are also conveniently located 10 minutes from Thompson Speedway. Located only 5 miles east of Great Sports Complex. Amenities include an indoor heated pool, exercise room, business center, & deluxe complimentary Express Start breakfast. All rooms include free wireless high-speed Internet access, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 25" TVs with full cable, two - two line phones with data ports, in room movies & Nintendo for a nominal fee. Several types of suites are available as well, including: business leisure, two room family suite, and super luxurious two room theme suites with whirlpool tubs. A meeting room is available for special events. The friendly and dedicated staff is Smart Service Plus trained, and will ensure your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel is a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel Ashtabula
Holiday Inn Ashtabula
Ashtabula Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.