We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cigarette smelly and untrained staff/wireless not working” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashtabula
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cigarette smelly and untrained staff/wireless not working”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros: Close to interstate & comfortable bed
Cons: Cigarette smoke permeates the hotel and even in my supposed smoke-free room. Dirty/sticky carpet in the room. Close to gas stations but no restaurants. Wireless didn't work and front desk staff didn't care except talking to her friends. Their list of restaurants included Wendy's and Subway but did not mention the awesome steakhouse 1 exit over in Geneva called Chops. For a Holiday Inn Express, which are usually great, even with business discount I thought $125 (incl. tax) was a ripoff

So if you smoke and like fast food and crappy hotel service, this is the place for you. Otherwise I'm not coming back.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
19
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express requires some major managerial improvements.

Once I checked-in at late evening, I asked front desk clerk to set up a wake-up call for me at early morning. I had very important meeting and need to spend some time in the morning to be prepared for it.
Guess what? It did not receive a wake-up call. Later on I found that the room telephone connection had some problem. I left the hotel in super rush without having a breakfast. And I did not have any time for the meeting preparation.
Here are the other things that really need to be improved:
- Fridge was extremely noisy
- Internet is very slow and if you need to work from your room better find another hotel
- Bathroom floor was sticky
- The room key did not open the door and I had to go back to front desk to change it.

I wish I could tell you some good things about this place, but because of all these troubles I did not have a chance to experience it.

Room Tip: If you need to set up a wake-up call do it over the phone from your room, in this case you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel had helpful, friendly staff who were attentive to my needs. No problems. The facility itself was very nice with many extras such as a nice pool, fitness area, and business room. The hotel room itself was very nice, clean and spacious. Everything worked well and it was a very functional area. Nice to have a microwave and refrigerator as well. Comfortable bed. WiFi worked perfectly. The breakfast area was also spacious with an excellent variety of options. Nice place. It is near the interstate, however, so you could hear some traffic. I left the fan on to create some "white noise".

Also, a suggestion to the hotel management....... I stayed on the third floor, which apparently has smoking and non-smoking rooms. One end of the hall appears to be smoking, while the other end is not. When you get off the elevator, there is a heavy smell of smoke. Could you isolate the smoking rooms in a separate area? Give it some thought. The room itself, however was just fine. No smell at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great place to stay. The staff were always willing to help my family and I with whatever our needs were while we stayed.
We will always stay here when we visit Ashtabula,Ohio. It is in a great location and plenty of things to do with your family. My kids loved the pool and the hot tub. Breakfast was also a hit with our family. Great place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We like this hotel and book it when I have business calls in Erie, PA. It's worth the 1 hour drive from Austinburg to Erie.
Rooms and theI whole hotelthing look to be all new.
And be sure to have dinmer at Quinn's when you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room is large, the air con quiet and the shower very efficient! It seems to be fairly new, with HD TV also, and a good breakfast, all in ll, a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here on our trip out east and then again on return trip. Mattresses were the best . Very comfortable. Would stay again. Breakfast was good for basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Address: 1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashtabula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashtabula offers the finest accommodations in the Ashtabula area. Easily accessible, the Holiday Inn Express is located just off I-90, at exit 223. The Holiday Inn Express is between Erie and Cleveland, with Erie being 45 minutes east, and Cleveland being 50 minutes west. Cleveland Hopkins Airport is also only 45 miles away. The Holiday Inn Express is located 45 miles from the Presque Isle Downs, near Erie, which offers horse racing and slot machine gambling. We are also conveniently located 10 minutes from Thompson Speedway. Located only 5 miles east of Great Sports Complex. Amenities include an indoor heated pool, exercise room, business center, & deluxe complimentary Express Start breakfast. All rooms include free wireless high-speed Internet access, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 25" TVs with full cable, two - two line phones with data ports, in room movies & Nintendo for a nominal fee. Several types of suites are available as well, including: business leisure, two room family suite, and super luxurious two room theme suites with whirlpool tubs. A meeting room is available for special events. The friendly and dedicated staff is Smart Service Plus trained, and will ensure your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel is a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel Ashtabula
Holiday Inn Ashtabula
Ashtabula Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.