We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ashtabula
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a great place to stay. The staff were always willing to help my family and I with whatever our needs were while we stayed.
We will always stay here when we visit Ashtabula,Ohio. It is in a great location and plenty of things to do with your family. My kids loved the pool and the hot tub. Breakfast was also a hit with our family. Great place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
16
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We like this hotel and book it when I have business calls in Erie, PA. It's worth the 1 hour drive from Austinburg to Erie.
Rooms and theI whole hotelthing look to be all new.
And be sure to have dinmer at Quinn's when you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room is large, the air con quiet and the shower very efficient! It seems to be fairly new, with HD TV also, and a good breakfast, all in ll, a good place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here on our trip out east and then again on return trip. Mattresses were the best . Very comfortable. Would stay again. Breakfast was good for basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family stayed here for the first time (first time in a HI Express) and we really enjoyed our stay.

The hotel seemed pretty new and was well looked after. The lobby was welcoming, as were the check-in staff.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Only downside was the room had two double beds, would have been better with two queens. The A/C worked VERY well and the room had a little fridge to keep our drinks cold.

The swimming pool was really nice and we all enjoyed it. It was perfect for my kids (not too deep) and they had a blast.

The free breakfast was good and had a great choice for all of us. The staff were super nice and all in all we had a great stay.

There are a few places to eat nearby including Quinn's restaurant/bar, which had a great menu. Also only a short drive to Geneva, which has a larger choice of eateries. The hotel is a great base for visiting the covered bridges which are dotted all around the area and also a nice short drive to nice swimming beaches on Lake Erie.

We would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I called at 3am to stay here after driving 19 hours. I was immediately and graciously accomodated. The room was immaculate, although my daughter did think that the room might had some dampness or mustiness to it. I don't know if the higher humidity in the air was due to the location near the great lakes, or, due to it being a first floor room. In general, I found the room to be quite acceptable, but the contemporary decor, while having clean lines, is not as welcoming as other hotels we stayed at traveling across country. The beds were comfortable, and room amenities good. So, other than not having an "ambiance" that gives you that warm and fuzzy feeling the minute you enter the room, I enjoyed a good night's sleep in a clean, comfortable environment.

Room Tip: Try a room on the second floor or higher to see if there is no dampness in the room air quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear NhLulu,

As always we are glad to read feedback from one of our valued guests. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I do appreciate the compliment on our great service. While I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We truly value comments may it be positive or negative as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Nine hours into our trip with 3 hours remaining on the road we decided to stop overnight. Staff was most gracious and helpful, room was spacious and spotless. Pool and spa, relaxing and immaculate. Would stop again in a heartbeat. Breakfast typical plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel Ashtabula
Holiday Inn Ashtabula
Ashtabula Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Ohio
Address: 1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Ashtabula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashtabula offers the finest accommodations in the Ashtabula area. Easily accessible, the Holiday Inn Express is located just off I-90, at exit 223. The Holiday Inn Express is between Erie and Cleveland, with Erie being 45 minutes east, and Cleveland being 50 minutes west. Cleveland Hopkins Airport is also only 45 miles away. The Holiday Inn Express is located 45 miles from the Presque Isle Downs, near Erie, which offers horse racing and slot machine gambling. We are also conveniently located 10 minutes from Thompson Speedway. Located only 5 miles east of Great Sports Complex. Amenities include an indoor heated pool, exercise room, business center, & deluxe complimentary Express Start breakfast. All rooms include free wireless high-speed Internet access, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 25" TVs with full cable, two - two line phones with data ports, in room movies & Nintendo for a nominal fee. Several types of suites are available as well, including: business leisure, two room family suite, and super luxurious two room theme suites with whirlpool tubs. A meeting room is available for special events. The friendly and dedicated staff is Smart Service Plus trained, and will ensure your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel is a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.