We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashtabula
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family stayed here for the first time (first time in a HI Express) and we really enjoyed our stay.

The hotel seemed pretty new and was well looked after. The lobby was welcoming, as were the check-in staff.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Only downside was the room had two double beds, would have been better with two queens. The A/C worked VERY well and the room had a little fridge to keep our drinks cold.

The swimming pool was really nice and we all enjoyed it. It was perfect for my kids (not too deep) and they had a blast.

The free breakfast was good and had a great choice for all of us. The staff were super nice and all in all we had a great stay.

There are a few places to eat nearby including Quinn's restaurant/bar, which had a great menu. Also only a short drive to Geneva, which has a larger choice of eateries. The hotel is a great base for visiting the covered bridges which are dotted all around the area and also a nice short drive to nice swimming beaches on Lake Erie.

We would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
19
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I called at 3am to stay here after driving 19 hours. I was immediately and graciously accomodated. The room was immaculate, although my daughter did think that the room might had some dampness or mustiness to it. I don't know if the higher humidity in the air was due to the location near the great lakes, or, due to it being a first floor room. In general, I found the room to be quite acceptable, but the contemporary decor, while having clean lines, is not as welcoming as other hotels we stayed at traveling across country. The beds were comfortable, and room amenities good. So, other than not having an "ambiance" that gives you that warm and fuzzy feeling the minute you enter the room, I enjoyed a good night's sleep in a clean, comfortable environment.

Room Tip: Try a room on the second floor or higher to see if there is no dampness in the room air quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear NhLulu,

As always we are glad to read feedback from one of our valued guests. Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I do appreciate the compliment on our great service. While I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We truly value comments may it be positive or negative as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Nine hours into our trip with 3 hours remaining on the road we decided to stop overnight. Staff was most gracious and helpful, room was spacious and spotless. Pool and spa, relaxing and immaculate. Would stop again in a heartbeat. Breakfast typical plus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spent one night here in Feburary. Clean, efficient and what you would expect. No surprises during my stay. Complimentary breakfast was fine. Checkin and out was quick. Easy access to highway but not a lot of place to eat close but a few within driving range.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed here for daughters sports tournament at near by SPIRE. Very clean, hotel, easy highway access, staff was very friendly, nice pool (small). We ordered pizza in as there are not a lot of options for dining near by. There is a waffle house, mcdonalds, burger king. Two gas stations with small stores attached.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

A very decent property in an area that is not heavily popluated. The room was very clean, appointed with late-modeled furnshings and decor. The complimentary breakfast is okay in terms of variety but not as varied as those at some competitors, such as Hampton Inns. Overtall, though, the breakfast is acceptable. The hotel offers a pancake machine in which a guest pushes a button and the machine makes and cooks a pancake and out it comes on a conveyor belt to fall into your plate. As a result, the outside of the pancake is thiin but firm (almost crusty). The middle of the pancake is has a fluffly consistency, though.

Twice I sought the assistance of the front desk and the staff did not dissapoint. Not only did they deliver but they delivered with a smile. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I visited the area again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Hotel is rather new and the nicest in town. Unfortunately town has nothing for a good dinner except the local family restaruant which was fine. Hotel is clean, has a pool and hot tub. Staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Address: 1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Ashtabula, OH 44010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Ashtabula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ashtabula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashtabula offers the finest accommodations in the Ashtabula area. Easily accessible, the Holiday Inn Express is located just off I-90, at exit 223. The Holiday Inn Express is between Erie and Cleveland, with Erie being 45 minutes east, and Cleveland being 50 minutes west. Cleveland Hopkins Airport is also only 45 miles away. The Holiday Inn Express is located 45 miles from the Presque Isle Downs, near Erie, which offers horse racing and slot machine gambling. We are also conveniently located 10 minutes from Thompson Speedway. Located only 5 miles east of Great Sports Complex. Amenities include an indoor heated pool, exercise room, business center, & deluxe complimentary Express Start breakfast. All rooms include free wireless high-speed Internet access, iron, ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, 25" TVs with full cable, two - two line phones with data ports, in room movies & Nintendo for a nominal fee. Several types of suites are available as well, including: business leisure, two room family suite, and super luxurious two room theme suites with whirlpool tubs. A meeting room is available for special events. The friendly and dedicated staff is Smart Service Plus trained, and will ensure your stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel is a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Hotel Ashtabula
Holiday Inn Ashtabula
Ashtabula Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.