We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a very nice, large hotel in the...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sauder Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Archbold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sauder Heritage Inn
Save Saved
You added Sauder Heritage Inn to your Saves list
22611 State Route 2, Archbold, OH 43502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Archbold B&B and Inns
Knoxville, TN USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“It is a very nice, large hotel in the...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

It is a very nice, large hotel in the quaint little town of Archbold. The Staff Was friendly and helpful. I had an issue with the key to my room Not working But they corrected The problem quickly. They had a fine Free breakfast in the morning Which included toaster waffles, Homemade bread and jam, Fruit, cereals, and various other items.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
15
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

First of all I have to say that I had no idea what to expect. We booked this place because it was on our way to Cedar Point. I was surprisingly shocked! They employees were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were extremely clean. The bed sheets were crisp and the mattress was very comfortable. Both my husband and I slept great. The air conditioning worked nicely and was quite. Wi fi never really worked. Cell phones don't work in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinboro pa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Hotel offers package deals, oversized rooms and breakfast and or dinner depending on the package. Hotel is immaculate. The wood decor is breathtaking and the mini gardens and fountains throughout are exquisite. A must if you're in the area!

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is wonderful. Very clean hotel. Plenty of areas throughout the hotel to visit with family and friends or to play your own board games. The way the pool and breakfast area are set up, you could stay up all night playing games or talking and not bother other people in their rooms sleeping.

In the newer part of the hotel they have wonderful shower heads in the bathtub. The shower head moves up and down so people of different sizes can get a better shower. Also, it has good water pressure.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disney, Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

There aren't many nice hotels around in this area, but this is the nicest between Toledo and Ft. Wayne. You won't find any other hotels (other than a small motel) in Archbold. It is part of Sauder Village/Manufacturing, etc..... Spacious place. It has meeting rooms if necessary. Real nice pool with a waterfall and hot tub. Small game room. Real nice breakfast with lots of choices. If you can think ahead a bit, you can get a package deal (hotel + gift certificate to use either at Sauder Village or at the restaurant "The Barn". Nice, new, clean place. Campers are allowed to use pool so you may see some outsiders coming in. I'd recommend .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The last time we visited Sauder Heritage Inn was 14 years ago, when it was brand new. We stayed in the original Lodge section. As you enter the lobby, you are greeted with spectacular 2+ story beams and a huge fireplace with plenty of lounging areas to relax. the wrought iron work was all produced in house by the local blacksmith in the Sauder Village.

Fourteen years later, I truly expected service and decor to suffer, but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the new addition, which includes a beautiful pool with waterfall and an adjoining large hot tub. The breakfast area sits beneath a 2 story "Great Oak Tree" giving you the feeling of dining in a garden. The rooms in this new wing are a bit smaller than the original area, but also now less expensive. Everything was extremely clean! I love having a separated are next to the bathroom to get ready for the day without monopolizing the "important" room. The little amenities such as Bath and Body soaps and shampoos were nice and the towels are more plush than normal. I particularly love the bedding, from the high thread count sheets to the down blanket, and the mattress was super comfortable. Air conditioning was quiet, but we were able to open large windows at night. The only complaint was we could have used an additional chair for seating instead of the one provided. I was also impressed with the fact that once you close your door, you cannot hear your neighbors or any other outside sounds.

The Barn Restaurant has wonderful home cooked food. Spring for the buffet (not too expensive). The night we dined there they had broasted chicken, pork loin, and some of the best fish both I and my husband have ever had. This was after a long day of touring the Village.

I could not have have been happier that the years between our stay did not change the integrity of the staff or the owners. If you want a relaxing place to unwind and enjoy the beauty of the Inn itself, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My husband and I had won an overnight stay at the Sauder Heritage Inn three years ago and forgot about it. We were both on vacation last week and decided to go out to the Barn Restaurant located at Sauder's Village where the Heritage Inn is also located. Since it's an hour drive from home, we decided to use our gift certificate for the overnight stay.

If you eat at the Barn, wear stretch pants! The food is phenomenal...good, home cooking...roast beef, fabulous fried chicken, baked ham...and you can eat off of the buffet (which is what most people do) or order off the menu. BTW, the Barn is just that....an old Barn, restored, refurbished and cozy inside. Just a short walk away is the Heritage Inn, the Dough Box (incredible bakery), Sauder Furniture Outlet store and then the Sauder Village, which is a working historical museum...kinda like stepping back in time.

The Dough Box closes early as does the Outlet store but both are fun to check out if you make it in time. Note to bargain hunters: in the very back of the Outlet is the deep discount area! We did find a great bargain on a media center!

The Sauder Village is fun for kids...I guess since we're from this area and we've been to it before, we take it for granted. First time going thru is cool...after that, ehhhhh. Been there done that.

Now...all of this, including the Heritage Inn, is located in the middle of a corn field! We ate dinner and checked into the inn at 5:30. We upgraded our room and our room included a sitting area, mini kitchen area, walk out, patio w/chairs leading to a lovely little pond with a waterfall, king bed and ample space in the room. The problem is, there is nothing to do after you check in. We soaked in the hot tub for a bit then decided to go have a drink at a bar. Guess what? No bar at the Inn. We couldn't find a single business open past 6 PM in the city of Archbold other than a fast food restaurant. We drove to Wauseon, OH, just ten miles east also with no luck...fast food restaurants but that was about it. So, we came back to the Inn and got back in the hot tub! Hey, at least we had it to ourselves! We saw a guy walking back to his room and he was carrying two Coors Lites. Outside of the Inn are signs posted that you cannot bring alcohol into the Inn so we asked him where he got them. He got them at the....FRONT DESK! Now that's funny! We went to the front desk and sure as can be, the clerk gave us a list of all the beer (imported and domestic), wine, champagne and liquor they serve. You just have to ask! We bought a few Bud Lites and went back to our room to relax and watch the corn grow.

It was a bit difficult to sleep at night because we could not get a good temperature with the air. It was either too hot and stuffy or too cold. There was no middle ground.

The next morning, there was a lovely continental breakfast served which included baked goods from The Dough Box, cereals, breads/bagels/waffles, juice, coffee and fresh fruit. We really appreciated that. It was very clean and the staff is very kind.

Would I go back? Probably not but not because it was dirty or nasty or anything like that. It is lovely, clean and quiet but there just isn't much to do once the sun goes down in Archbold, Ohio. I can sit around and watch TV at home; I don't like to do that at a hotel. I'm not really a country girl but if you are and you like to be in the middle of the country wit nothing to do but what the corn grow, then by all means, this is it for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sauder Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauder Heritage Inn

Address: 22611 State Route 2, Archbold, OH 43502
Location: United States > Ohio > Archbold
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Archbold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You don’t have to travel far to get away from it all! Enjoy a fun-filled yet relaxing stay at our expanded Sauder Heritage Inn! Our warm hospitality will welcome you as you enter the spacious, timber-frame lobby. Throughout the Inn the beautiful fireplace, atriums with live plants, comfortable furniture, natural wood timbers and hand-forged lamps and railings set the casual, friendly tone. The indoor pool with waterfall, hot tub, game & exercise rooms adjacent to the "Great Oak Tree" provide even more options for a memorable get-away! We’ve included all the amenities of a large hotel with the ambiance of a country inn to offer you the ideal place to stay in northwest Ohio. We look forward to having you as our guest. The Sauder Heritage Inn is open year round with room rates from just $110.00 per night. Weekday rates, AAA, Senior and Military Discounts and many packages are available. We offer a unique destination for family vacations, retreats, classes, group tours and conferences. Group rates are available. Located on the complex of Sauder Village, Ohio's largest living history destination. Package rates available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sauder Heritage Hotel Archbold
Sauder Heritage Inn Archbold, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauder Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.