We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any age will enjoy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sauder Farm and Craft Village

Sauder Farm and Craft Village
22611 State Route 2, Archbold, OH 43502
800-590-9755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Archbold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Archbold, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Any age will enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The village brings early farm life alive in many ways. Children will enjoy the animals and hand-on activities. Adults like the old-time buildings with activities reminding them of early years on the farm, whether they have experienced them or not. Shopping is varied and fun; eating even better as there's a sandwich/soup cafeteria or a full sit down meal in the Barn. Plan to spend most of a day as there is so much to see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Solon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Quaint Crafting Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We found out about this attraction by accident, but it proved to be one of the nicer stops on our trip. While not a traditional reconstructed village, this attraction is more of a fictional crafting village created by the founder of Sauder Woodworking. It was laid out beautifully and all the craftspeople and interpreters were very professional and friendly. Demonstrations and talks were available in almost every one of the small buildings the day we visited. The "museum" on site was basically a large warehouse with isles of different pieces of equipment and antiques. We wanted to compare this to Colonial Williamsburg but of a different time period. An enjoyable time and will stop there again to see some of the things we missed the next time we visit the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The food was great and the atmosphere was great. We had buffet lunch and everything tasted great. The staff was very friendly

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Educational & Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a lot of fun learning about history, which is great for kids to have the opportunity to actually see how people lived before there were iPads and DSLs. Kids are encouraged to ask questions and participate. Would definitely recommend. And if time allows, head to mom's diner for a great 50's type atmosphere, hamburgers, pizza and some darn good onion rings!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The costume interpreters make this so interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 hours touring the village and didn't even eat lunch so as to take advantage of shorter fall hours. Most buildings had an interpreter who brought history to life. For example at the church we were instructed to sit where women would have sat,we sang a song to experience the acoustics, and we got an interesting rundown of everyone's roles.
So interesting that this visit led me to do further research online.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauder Farm and Craft Village also viewed

 

Been to Sauder Farm and Craft Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauder Farm and Craft Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.