We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the Past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sauder Farm and Craft Village

Sauder Farm and Craft Village
22611 State Route 2, Archbold, OH 43502
800-590-9755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Archbold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
North Bend, Ohio, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Back to the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a perfect time visiting with the talented guides. The village is set on a circular path that is easy to walk. All of the buildings are original and were moved to the village to help show people, especially children, how different life as we know it was 100 years ago. Children may enjoy the farm animals better than cabins, one room school houses or little church buildings but as an adult it gave me time to think about how my life is different yet the same as the lives of the early settlers who braved very difficult times to settle the north-west corner of Ohio. Really worth the trip if you enjoy looking into the past. I thought it would be about an hour visit but we spent over 3 hours! On a busy day it could take longer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    32
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss this attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our visit began just before noon on a sunny, warm day. I have visited the 'village' a couple of years ago and was impressed with the many 'live' exhibits, the unique layout of the village and the informative guides and products produced. On this visit I had limited time but enjoyed visiting many of the shops, stores, etc. The highlight for me was visiting the 'Chapel'. The host told us the history of the building from a church to a school to a wood shop, being purchased and moved to the village as a church. The host was a good speaker and have told us the history of the building, sat down at the 'pump organ' , played and we sang Amazing Grace and How great Thou art - wonderful. The village has many, many articifers you don't want to miss.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Enjoyable piece of Americana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sauder Village located in Archbold, Ohio, is literally out in the country in extreme northwest Ohio. It is a few miles south of the Ohio Turnpike (I-80/90) and an hour’s drive west of Toledo, but other than that, you have to want to go to Sauder Village. You are not just going to be “passing through” anyplace to get to the Sauder Village complex. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t make the effort to go there because the experience is very enjoyable. There are several historic buildings with costumed interpreter’s that tell their tale and more than willing to answer questions. They are informative and passionate about their role. Some of them are involved in craft making and eager to explain what they do such as the Cooper who makes wooden buckets, the tin maker, or the basket weaver. Whatever the folks at Sauder Village do, they do it very well. In addition to the historic buildings, there is a museum that houses an amazing display of American artifacts that is well worth your time. While visiting the village, be sure to have lunch at The Barn restaurant where you can get a wonderful lunch buffet for $8.99 that includes fabulous fried chicken, mashed potatoes & gravy, salad, and desert as well as many other items. That alone is worth the trip to Archbold!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delightfully surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Village is set up very well and being able to talk with the people at each of the buildings to answer questions and give information about the people and events was very interesting. Plan two days at least to be able to enjoy the tour the best.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“a day on the farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent the day strolling the grounds and enjoying the conversations with the people working in the various buildings. They explained the history of the Sauder family and demonstrated crafts which were needed to survive in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. There is a very nice gift shop located in the main building along with a restaurant. It was a very pleasant way to spend day. They are open Tuesday through Saturday from 10am to 5pm and Sunday from noon to four. Children under 16 are free on Sunday. Cost is $12.50 adults---$11 seniors, $6.25 for students and under 5 free. Discount for AAA available. Telephone 800 590 9755

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauder Farm and Craft Village also viewed

 

Been to Sauder Farm and Craft Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauder Farm and Craft Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.