We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from outside of amherst looking in, not all that impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cork's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cork's
Park Avenue, Amherst, OH 44001
440-984-7430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“from outside of amherst looking in, not all that impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

First of all, let me preface this by saying I haven't eaten at Cork's in over 2 years. We had our wedding shower/engagement party at Cork's before they were open and the menu has completely changed since then. That having been said, this time around I was not as equally impressed by the actual taste of the food. Inventive, yes. Tasty, not quite there. Ambiance is nice for downtown Amherst, and there is a very nice selection of wine and beers available from next door. I can appreciate a rotating menu, as to allow for flexibility in chef's ideas, however the few "wow" items I can remember from years ago were not available. To me, it seems to be a no-brainer to keep the memorable dishes?

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Ohio
1 review
“Alternative to high priced dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent mouth-watering food, excellent presentation and excellent service. Our six-person dining party considered the quality of our meals comparable to a local high-end, very expensive, French restaurant at a third of the price. Two of the couples live in Colorado and California and have traveled extensively giving them a broad base of dining experiences.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We like this place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

With nicer rests. being scarce in the surrounding area, this one is very nice. If you don't feel like the upscale, you can go next door to Stubby's. Bar atmosphere but still great food.

Can;t believe the one bad review. Probably a competing rest or ex employee, because we have been here many many times, by ourselves and with friends, and it was Always pleasant and good.
Great wine list. Many good beers and good food.
We gave my son a gift certificate for xmas and he and his wife drove out from Avon Lake. They said it was excellent. And they, unlike my wife and I, always find the upscale placed to eat. Typical Yuppies. LOL...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went here after the restaurant we were going to go to in Oberlin was closed due to a power outage. We just kept driving North and happened to find this place on our GPS. We were very impressed with both the food and the service. Our waitress (Jen- I think) was very helpful with recomendations. I loved everything she suggested. The Strawberry salad was fresh and tasted like a burst of summer! I would highly recommend.. we will be returning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great food and atmosphere, tons of wine choices and great martini's.
Love how the whole place opens up to the outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork's also viewed

 

Been to Cork's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cork's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.