We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve package 2012, Super Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4073 Medina Road, I-77 (Exit 137A) & ST.RT. 18, Akron, OH 44333   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Akron
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New Years Eve package 2012, Super Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Super Value, we had called all around the Akron Canton area for New Years Eve package. We were very satisfied. Rooms were clean and ready 15 minutes prior to check in. At the party the appetizers were sufficient. Dinner buffet had chicken, salmon and prime rib also salad and plenty of sides. The womens bathroom was just as you exit the dance floor. Very important. New Years favors were a plenty at your assigned table. Late check out next day at 3pm. We had called for more towels and they were there in 2 min. We would attend again and all staff, great

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
16
7
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is reliable and easy-to-get-to. My company and a competitor both use it for seminars. The sleeping rooms are always fine and were recently upgraded. The shower design is dumb - there's a non-moving glass door that covers half the shower area, so one must step into the shower to turn it on, which means one is first drenched with cold water. The sinks are a modern bowl style mounted on a counter and they are a little too high. The staff is very polite and usually gives a breakfast coupon and a free drink coupon to Priority Club Gold members.

Room Tip: If you're using a meeting room, be careful of the Directors Room. It's a private room off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was pleased with the service, easy check in and check out. No hassle with my older parents that have issues walking. Changed rooms for my parents benefit without me even asking. Our rooms were clean, I checked before I agreed to stay. It seems to be an older hotel but I was treated better than at most higher priced hotels recently. Lots of places near to eat, shop, or what ever else that is needed when far from home. I did not hear the traffic some stated was a problem, and the water was so hot I took a great shower just like I was home. My sister payed for the rooms so my dad could get to the Cleavland Clinic for his appointments and she is pleased that it was good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reckange, Mersch, Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for the 2nd time this year. The decor does look a little tired, but the staff are amazing. With Priority Club, the simple breakfast is free - good for those of us on a diet. My room was very clean, bathroom spotless and daily cleaning was done efficiently. Great place for getting to many restaurants all within 10 mins drive. The only problem is that the TVs are not controlled re volume. Parents next door to mine left their kids in with the TV blasting away ... walls must be a bit thin. To give them their due, a complaint to the front desk ended with someone coming along to bring me peace. This is the place for me to stay during my business trips to Akron. And I'll be back in October!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms above the 2nd floor and at the end of the corridoors. That way you only have one neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I am staying at this hotel for several days. It was booked and paid for by my employer. If it was my money, I would have left after the 1st evening. The rooms are dirty and in poor condition. I had a strange water stain running down one wall which appeared to have been hastily pasted over with scraps of wallpaper. Several of my coworkers complained about offensive odors in their rooms. The "haunted" shower mysteriously goes from hot to scalding to ice cold and everything between all on its own.

The ammenities are terrible. The wifi is laughable, as it often takes several mInutes to fully download a page such as Google or Wikipedia. As said earlier, forget attempting iTunes or Netflix (I attempted to download a movie the first night and was treated to an estimated time of over 21,000 minutes... It was about 14.5 days when I did the math). I'm not sure which is more offensive, that the Holiday Inn offers this to their guests or that the Holiday Inn pays a company to provide this "service".

The front desk staff seemed exasperated by the state of the hotel. They appeared to me to have an attitude based on "it is what it is...just accept it". It actually reminded me of the defeated staff attitude I experienced at some eastern European and Russian hotels I have stayed at.

The gym consists of an elliptical that screeches and moans with every stroke and two treadmills. The equipment is packed into the room so tightly, the machines can't face the same way.

The bar / restaurant is passable. The service at the bar was actually pretty good and the servers / bar tenders seemed to actually care about their customers experience. The food was decent enough.

Strangely enough, there is an unaffiliated top notch steak house attached to the hotel. The Hyde Park is a well respected chain of very good steak houses where you can get great service and awesome steaks. The fact that it is attached to this hotel is bizarre in the extreme. However, my reccomendation would be to stay at the Hampton Inn and walk the extra 100 yards to the Hyde Park.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I would not recommend staying at this hotel. Terrible service and smelly rooms. Old and dirty. When I checked in I was sent to four different rooms, because every, room I was sent to hadn't been cleaned and this at 11:30 at night. No hot water and had to take cold showers everyday. There Internet doesn't work either. And all they would say is " oh sorry". Don't stay here, there are other hotels in the area that look a lot nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Read some negative reviews of the hotel, so was a bit skeptical. The only complaint that I had for the hotel is that the hall/corrider area looked like it needed some paint or wallpaper. Otherwise the room was nice and looked recently remodeled. I would stay there again for business and thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn

Address: 4073 Medina Road, I-77 (Exit 137A) & ST.RT. 18, Akron, OH 44333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel is the place to stay when traveling to the hometown of Lebron James. Just minutes from Downtown Akron, Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens, University of Akron, Inventors Hall of Fame, Blossom Music Center, Infocision Stadium and John S. Knight Center. With convenient access to Canton and Cleveland, you can visit the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland Playhouse and Warehouse Districts, and so much more! This hotel is surrounded by several excellent restaurants, shopping plazas/malls, theatres, golf courses and children's activities.The Holiday Inn Akron-West Hotel has just completed a $2 million renovation extending from our guest rooms to our meeting facilities! You will feel a sense of elegance and comfort as you enter our contemporary spacious lobby. The staff of the Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel will greet you with a friendly smile and a professional approach. The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel specializes in meetings, banquets, and conferences. This hotel features 2 restaurants the Montrose Bar & Grille as well as the award winning Hyde Park Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Hotel Akron
Akron Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.