We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older building but OK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4073 Medina Road, I-77 (Exit 137A) & ST.RT. 18, Akron, OH 44333   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Akron
Athens, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Older building but OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was pleased with the service, easy check in and check out. No hassle with my older parents that have issues walking. Changed rooms for my parents benefit without me even asking. Our rooms were clean, I checked before I agreed to stay. It seems to be an older hotel but I was treated better than at most higher priced hotels recently. Lots of places near to eat, shop, or what ever else that is needed when far from home. I did not hear the traffic some stated was a problem, and the water was so hot I took a great shower just like I was home. My sister payed for the rooms so my dad could get to the Cleavland Clinic for his appointments and she is pleased that it was good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    17
    14
    4
See reviews for
16
7
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reckange, Mersch, Luxembourg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for the 2nd time this year. The decor does look a little tired, but the staff are amazing. With Priority Club, the simple breakfast is free - good for those of us on a diet. My room was very clean, bathroom spotless and daily cleaning was done efficiently. Great place for getting to many restaurants all within 10 mins drive. The only problem is that the TVs are not controlled re volume. Parents next door to mine left their kids in with the TV blasting away ... walls must be a bit thin. To give them their due, a complaint to the front desk ended with someone coming along to bring me peace. This is the place for me to stay during my business trips to Akron. And I'll be back in October!

Room Tip: I prefer rooms above the 2nd floor and at the end of the corridoors. That way you only have one neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I am staying at this hotel for several days. It was booked and paid for by my employer. If it was my money, I would have left after the 1st evening. The rooms are dirty and in poor condition. I had a strange water stain running down one wall which appeared to have been hastily pasted over with scraps of wallpaper. Several of my coworkers complained about offensive odors in their rooms. The "haunted" shower mysteriously goes from hot to scalding to ice cold and everything between all on its own.

The ammenities are terrible. The wifi is laughable, as it often takes several mInutes to fully download a page such as Google or Wikipedia. As said earlier, forget attempting iTunes or Netflix (I attempted to download a movie the first night and was treated to an estimated time of over 21,000 minutes... It was about 14.5 days when I did the math). I'm not sure which is more offensive, that the Holiday Inn offers this to their guests or that the Holiday Inn pays a company to provide this "service".

The front desk staff seemed exasperated by the state of the hotel. They appeared to me to have an attitude based on "it is what it is...just accept it". It actually reminded me of the defeated staff attitude I experienced at some eastern European and Russian hotels I have stayed at.

The gym consists of an elliptical that screeches and moans with every stroke and two treadmills. The equipment is packed into the room so tightly, the machines can't face the same way.

The bar / restaurant is passable. The service at the bar was actually pretty good and the servers / bar tenders seemed to actually care about their customers experience. The food was decent enough.

Strangely enough, there is an unaffiliated top notch steak house attached to the hotel. The Hyde Park is a well respected chain of very good steak houses where you can get great service and awesome steaks. The fact that it is attached to this hotel is bizarre in the extreme. However, my reccomendation would be to stay at the Hampton Inn and walk the extra 100 yards to the Hyde Park.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I would not recommend staying at this hotel. Terrible service and smelly rooms. Old and dirty. When I checked in I was sent to four different rooms, because every, room I was sent to hadn't been cleaned and this at 11:30 at night. No hot water and had to take cold showers everyday. There Internet doesn't work either. And all they would say is " oh sorry". Don't stay here, there are other hotels in the area that look a lot nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Read some negative reviews of the hotel, so was a bit skeptical. The only complaint that I had for the hotel is that the hall/corrider area looked like it needed some paint or wallpaper. Otherwise the room was nice and looked recently remodeled. I would stay there again for business and thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here in a 2nd floor room for 3 nights in early August. Room was reserved through the planning committee for a business event at a "special" rate of $169/nt.

Positives:
- Great location near I-77. Lots of stores & restaurants nearby.
- Attached restaurant (Hyde Park Grille) is excellent
- Bath & Body Works amenities (coconut lime verbena scent)
- Front desk staff was friendly, professional, & efficient

Negatives:
- DIRTY!!! Hair on sheets & in shower. Mold/mildew along shower grout line. Faint stains on bedspread.
- Pillows & mattress were uncomfortable
- Poor lighting in room
- Hallway had strong musty smell
- Toilet took 2-3 flushes to get even smallest amount of TP to disappear
- 1-ply toilet paper
- Maids took used soap bars from sink & shower but didn't leave new bars
- Smoke alarm faces bed and has a strobe light that blinks all night
- Desk chair was broken & uncomfortable

I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear JH1027,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in the our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our family stayed here while attending a wedding weekend.... Almost all of our reservations were incorrect... To the point some of us had to go to other hotels... My personal reservation was messed up to the point that we moved rooms three times in less than 15 hours.... Mold on bedroom walls and shower, wet carpet (all of it), it smelled... The hotel lobby furniture and breakfast dining area / bar were just downright dirty... Another family member killed numerous "unwanted guests" in their room.... To the sound of crunch....
The upper level rooms are definitely a better bet....
THE FRONT DESK, CLEANING, AND MAINTENANCE STAFF ARE GOOD KIND HELPFUL PEOPLE.... THEY ARE UP AGAINST A BRICK WALL

Room Tip: If you must stay.... Ask for an upper floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear NYAURORA,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in the our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn

Address: 4073 Medina Road, I-77 (Exit 137A) & ST.RT. 18, Akron, OH 44333
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel is the place to stay when traveling to the hometown of Lebron James. Just minutes from Downtown Akron, Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens, University of Akron, Inventors Hall of Fame, Blossom Music Center, Infocision Stadium and John S. Knight Center. With convenient access to Canton and Cleveland, you can visit the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland Playhouse and Warehouse Districts, and so much more! This hotel is surrounded by several excellent restaurants, shopping plazas/malls, theatres, golf courses and children's activities.The Holiday Inn Akron-West Hotel has just completed a $2 million renovation extending from our guest rooms to our meeting facilities! You will feel a sense of elegance and comfort as you enter our contemporary spacious lobby. The staff of the Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel will greet you with a friendly smile and a professional approach. The Holiday Inn Akron-West hotel specializes in meetings, banquets, and conferences. This hotel features 2 restaurants the Montrose Bar & Grille as well as the award winning Hyde Park Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Hotel Akron
Akron Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.