We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in Akron” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron

Save Saved
You added Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron
135 South Broadway, Akron, OH 44308 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Akron
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in Akron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had tickets to a show at the Akron Civic Theatre and decided to stay overnight at the Quaker Square Inn. This hotel is very unique and charming. It is located within walking distance of the theatre which was perfect for us. The room rate was reasonable and included parking and a hot breakfast the next morning. There is a restaurant located off the lobby, which unfortunately was temporarily closed for remodeling, but looked like it would be a nice place to grab a drink or bite to eat. The front desk clerk was very helpful and provided directions and a map to the theatre. He also provided information/recommendations for local restaurants in the area. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    30
    13
    16
See reviews for
22
41
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I believe the last time we stayed at Quaker Square the Inn was part of the Hilton chain. The rooms have been updated since then. Rooms are nicely appointed and are very comfortable. The unique aspects of the Inn make it worth a visit for anyone. Mid-week, mid-winter night life was pretty nonexistent - even the hotel restaurant closed at 9pm, but it was a short walk to hear jazz at Baxter's on Main.
A buffet breakfast was included with the room. You really should have a bowl of oatmeal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Luxurious Quaker Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is great for business or a family vacation. The rooms are round because grain silo's are round. The furnishings are first class and the hotel restaurants are fantastic with delicious food. You will absolutely enjoy a stay in this hotel when you are in the Akron / Canton Ohio area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are round because they are made from an old Quaker Oats grain silo. Every room is wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I don't normally send in reviews, but I thought it important as this is the first time I've had a bad experience with a hotel and it remains unresolved so I thought it would be important to let people know of my experience.
My colleague and I were to stay at the Quaker Square on business, however our meeting was cancelled and as such cancelled our stay. To my surprise, I received a no-show charge - my colleage was not although we cancelled them at the same time. The two times I called and left a message with their accounting person were left unanswered. The third time I called - this time with less patience, I simply explained my situation (that we cancelled the room and were still charged) and the staff member told me there was nothing they could do.
I now am out of pocket for $140 so it will be a very very long time before I stay at this property or recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I got the pleasure of experiencing this gem on NYE. At first, I was very over whelmed and confused. Trying to find your way to the rooms was a bit rough, and you never know where a door will be or a turn is coming....damn you silos! But, overall, it was the coolest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are round, weird. Big bath tub, free parking, just two blocks from all the downtown goodies; it was an awesome choice. Although was confused by the pool signs...because they dont have one. And the breakfast could have been a bit better. (but watching all the hung over young crowd come in right before it was done was pretty entertaining. Just sayin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel has been carved out of the heavy concrete silos of the old Quaker production mill. It is fun to wander through the hotel and try to imagine how many workers with large concrete saws it must have taken to create this -- and how many months. The desk staff is friendly and efficient. The rates are a little high, but not outrageous. There are a few downsides, however. Parking is insufficient and a fairly long walk from parking to the rooms. The internet connection is almost non-existent (take your own hot spot if you have need of good connection). And two elevators are not enough for the 7 or 8 floors of rooms -- I had to wait a very long time every time I used them. If you are doing business with Akron University there is NO better location. This hotel is within the campus, in fact many of the higher floors are student housing. The wall art is wonderful, bringing back Quaker advertising memories in huge wall coverings. They also used many of the old gears from the mill in wall-mounted collages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

On our trip to Dayton, Ohio to a printers' convention, we decided to break the trip up by stopping overnight at a unique hotel. The rooms in this hotel are constructed from former silos, owned by the Quaker Company at one time. Our room was mostly round, but comfortable with two queen size beds, a nice bath, a sitting area, and our own balcony--though locked. Breakfast was included in the price, and I made sure that I had a bowl of oatmeal! The night before we wandered around looking for a restaurant, and could have attended a minor league baseball game. You also get free parking, all for under $100. I wouldn't mind going back there--if our travels take us that way.

Room Tip: Usually your hotel will give you a good room--perhaps not right by the elevator or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron

Also Known As:
Quaker Square Inn At The University Of Akron Hotel
Quaker Square Inn At The University Of Akron Hotel Akron
Quaker Square Hotel
Quaker Square Inn At The University Of Akron Ohio
Address: 135 South Broadway, Akron, OH 44308 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quaker Square Inn at The University of Akron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.