We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always liked this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primo's Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Primo's Deli
1707 Wooster Ave, Akron, OH 44320-4102
(330) 745-9056
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 396 Restaurants in Akron
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always liked this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Usually go here around the end of the year. The food is always really good. Service is usually good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“So many choices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a wonderful little Akron place. There is an extensive menu of sandwiches most of which cant be finished in one sitting. There are also a few vegeterian options which is helpful. I've loved any sandwich I've ever tried. There is a large beer selection but I've never done more than look at it while waiting for my food. Definitely a must try for local's and visitors.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great deli - superb sandwiches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

During a business trip to Akron (OH), I had ben out quite a few times with work colleagues for lunch. We had tried middle eastern, sushi and a couple of Mexican places but on my last day, we decided to try somewhere different and went to Primos.

When we arrived, the place was heaving but a table was found for us and we sat down and ordered our drinks. A bowl of salted potato chips (crisps to us brits) was put on the table and we all checked out the menu. After giving our order, we had to wait quite a bit before the sandwiches arrived but eventually they did and I was faced with one of the biggest sandwiches I've ever tackled.

What you have to remember is that generally sandwiches in the UK are fairly small, it's considered a light bite for the most part. I ordered the seemingly popular Spicy Italian suband it was anything but a light bite. It was basically like two towers of meat and vegetables sandwiched between some grilled bread and it was awesome. The taste explosion was accompanied by grease overdose and I could have done with a shower straight after the meal but it was so worth it.

The ambiance of the restaurant was okay - kind of like an old country style cafe but it was a little cramped with some of the tables pretty close to the nearby tables. The service was intermittent, sometimes slow, at other times attentive although the servers looked fairly rushed and had little time to stay at a single table. One of the weird things I noticed is that there are vacuums everywhere.. I guess they must be used to a lot of stuff falling out of those sandwiches..

Anyway, sto sum it up, great food, okay service and decent ambiance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We ate here for the first time while visiting family. Not being beer drinkers, we went for the sandwiches which were wonderful! All our sandwiches were tasty, but I have to say my corned beef was some of the best I've ever had! Next time we'll try a different sandwich and hope we have room for dessert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

First time diner, on business in Akron. Outstanding beer selection by the bottle and well thought out tap offerings. I had the Reuben on rye...really top notch. Well balanced, great product and unhurried in the preparation - was slowly grilled, warm and melty with a nice crunch to the bread. I was able to score a Righteous Rye Ale from Sixpoint brewery out of Brooklyn on tap which was not only an unusual beer, but delicious and a great compliment to the sandwich. Atmosphere is perfect - oil cloths and plastic baskets of chips as you sit. Casual no fuss dining with high end product. Big thanks to the Primo staff and owners! I will definitely swing by the next time I am in Akron.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo's Deli also viewed

 

Been to Primo's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.