We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below average” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Akron Zoo

Akron Zoo
Akron, OH
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Akron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“below average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

they didn't have a lot of BIG animals, like Elephants or Lions. and I do realize its a small zoo to start with but shese! quite a few of the exhibits were empty anyway. I don't even see how children enjoyed it. 2 of the restaurants were also closed so either bring food or eat a hotdog (which I don't eat!)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    128
    24
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great day at the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Went to the zoo in January - very cold but all the animals were out. Very clean zoo - very friendly employees. Small zoo, but had a lot of fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

this place just keeps growing!!! Love the penguin exhibit great view, lots of interactive things for the kids to do and you can bring food and picnic .Just the perfct place to bring small children, less uphill down hill walking than other zoos and great views of the animals you can get up close and really see most of the animals my grand kids love the prarie dogs you can crawl i and pop your head up a dome right in the middle of them.I have taken them for many years it just keeps getting better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Growing up in this area my parents took us to the Cleveland Zoo. Now a days, parents in the area take their kids to the Akron Zoo. The Akron Zoo has really improved over the years and is a cheaper version of the Cleveland Zoo but much closer. Both are worth seeing but if you have young kids or grandkids, and want to save a little money and not travel as far, you cannot go wrong visiting the Akron Zoo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very people friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Kids loved it, very people friendly, alot of animals to look at, will be going back during the summer.
Very surprise how many animals were really there and the amount of space.
Keep up the good work.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akron Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akron Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.