We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an easy, comfortable place to eat with loads of atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgar's

Edgar's
530 Nome Ave, Akron, OH 44320-1234
330-869-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 396 Restaurants in Akron
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tallmadge
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just an easy, comfortable place to eat with loads of atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Have been several times and have never had a bad experience. The bar is comfortable with attentive service and great ddrinks. For dinner sitting in the bar is just as nice as sitting in the main dining room. Everyone from hostesses to servers have the same pleasant and welcoming disposition.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Went to Edgar's with a party of 15. The food was excellent with huge portions suitable for sharing. The service was also excellent. It's a must if you are visiting Akron.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“better then you can imgaine..food,atomsphere,staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

im so grateful to have found this place!! the menu is amazing.....so many choices....each one extra special..........flavors come through like ART!! the staff is so professional........the setting is lovely.........I want to try everything on the menu........they made my birthday extra special this year with a baklava cheesecake!! you will go back again and again ....................

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Have been to Edgar's many times and have always had a great meal. The portions are generous. The price is reasonable. Recently dined with 5 others, we all had great food and great service. Reservations are a must if you want to sit somewhere other than the bar. The chef is friendly and makes his rounds visiting patrons to make sure their food was prepared properly. The menu is large and there is enough to satisfy almost everyone. The grouper salad is excellent as is the flank steak sandwich.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We have given up on Edgar's!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm not sure why we keep going back to Edgar's. I think we are always wanting a good experience and sadly, it never happens. The food is good. The service is always the problem. We walk in with no reservation at 8 pm and I really think the hostess was trying to encourage us to leave rather than wait for a table. Waited an hour at the bar for our table. It took bartender 15 minutes to realize we wanted another round. The strange atmosphere and service are the reasons we are finally done with Edgar's.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgar's also viewed

 

Been to Edgar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.