We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn - Akron

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn - Akron to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn - Akron
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2939 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312-4717   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Akron
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We were in town for a family emergency and after driving for two days then being at the hospital for 10 hours we were desperate for a good nights sleep. We were directed to the Red Roof Inn and wow what a disappointment. We requested a room with a refrigerator which we did get but only after we were told that most of the refrigerators don't work anymore. We were told that this was a non smoking hotel however the room smelled of smoke and my brother in law had to change rooms because the smoke smell was so bad. The next morning I realized why the rooms smelled of smoke...the housekeepers were walking around with cigarettes hanging out of their mouths going in and out of the rooms. I am a smoker and almost couldn't handle the smell myself. The room wasn't very clean...the bathroom floor looked as though it hadn't been swept in months and the room just had a dirty feel to it. The only reason I rated this place a 2 was because of the friendliness of the front counter staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Akron, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

It is our goal to provide every customer with a comfortable stay and superior service. We do not condone the smoking of our employees anywhere but in the designated areas. I assure you that this will be addressed. In addition, any problems that we had with the in room refrigerators has been corrected. It is my goal to ensure your confidence in our ability to address the problem and prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    18
    14
    6
See reviews for
20
18
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I commute to work in this area, so occasionally I will stay here instead of driving back home. I have probably stayed here a dozen times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are always clean and I'm always able to check in before 10 a.m. when a room is available. I always book the King suite for around $50 a night...always clean and the front desk is pretty accommodating. The are plenty of places to eat nearby and there's a Wal-Mart and a Kohls in walking distance...a decent, safe place to stay for the night, if on a budget. The wi-fi can be a bit slow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Akron, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
I greatly appreciate your comments and thank you for taking time to write the information regarding the Akron Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I am staying here with a friend as we are traveling for school. I am not overly impressed with our stay at all. When we checked in, the front desk clerk, though very pleasant, was syrupy nice. Maybe that is her way but not very professional in her actions or dress. She was wearing a pair of skin tight blue jeans with various rips and stains in the legs. The lobby floor was dirty, the door was full of fingerprints and this should have been an indication of what to expect when we entered the room. The windows were very dirty both inside and out and even though we requested a non smoking room, it reeked of tobacco. We found a dirty towel hanging on the door in the bathroom and a dirty wash cloth was in the bathtub. I honestly do not believe I would ever feel comfortable coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENNESSEE
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I checked into this motel cold, wet from snow and tired. there was a space under the door that allowed cold air to blast in and the heater would not warm the room. I decided to shower to warm up and there was a dirty rag hanging on the shower head, that made me decide to check the room and I found it unclean. there was not another room available so they offered me a discount (after not offering my AARP discount).
The discount for the dirty room and rag? $5. The web pictures showed a microwave and refrigerator.... never found those....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Akron, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for us failing to deliver a great stay.

We strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we have taken the appropriate steps to address the problem that occurred during your stay and prevent any future occurrence.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time your travels bring you to the Akron area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed at this Red Roof Inn on a Friday night in October 2011 as a place to crash on a trip toward Wheeling, Ohio. I had chosen this particular motel mainly because of the price and because the reviews were all right for what the price was.

I didn't arrive at the Red Roof until after midnight. I was not terribly impressed with the gentleman who was working the front desk. He was okay but didn't go out of his way to be helpful. I could tell he was tired and would rather have been sleeping or something. He had a very mediocre (not really friendly or welcoming) demeanor and didn't even bother telling or showing guests how to get to their assigned room once he gave the card key. (He did this to me and I noticed to a few others after me. One lady after me had to ask him where her room was.)

When I got upstairs to my room, the key did not work. So I had to head back down to the lobby and had to wait a good 5-10 minutes for him to finish working with other guests before he could reconfigure my key. That was annoying. Another thing that was annoying was that the room I stayed in did not have a little notepad and pen as most hotel/motel rooms have. I needed a pen to write some things down and had to go back down to the lobby a third time to ask the gentleman for a pen and paper.

The good news is that the room was quiet and clean, and the TV remote control worked. I got a decent night's sleep, but there was no breakfast at all other than coffee. It was definitely a no-frills place, but hey... I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Akron, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry we fell short of providing a better experience; please accept my sincerest apologies.

I read your comment "...you get what you pay for". I want you to know that we are working diligently on being more than that. Although we are an economy hotel, we still should be able to provide exceptional service, and I am disappointed that did not happen. We are taking appropriate action to resolve this and prevent it form happening in the future.

Thank you again for your time, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We made our reservation online. When we arrived they attempted to charge us more. We needed a handicap room and they only offer these with one bed. The room next door was loud so we had to move to a new room. The shower was very slippery and there was no mat. Treacherous for someone who can only use one leg. There is no pool or breakfast. I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Akron, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

It is our goal to make sure every guest feels confident and safe with our accommodations. I'm sorry to hear we were unable to provide that for you. We are looking into your concerns.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My stay at Red Roof Inn was great. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and very updated. When we got in our room, 326, it seemed almost as if it was damp in there but i assumed it was because of the humidity we had been having all week. We had some neighbors who were loud but it didn't bother me. After i had gotten into bed and started to fall asleep i woke up to a sound of two loud knocks on the door at around 330 in the morning. I didn't get up because i thought it was the neighbors but when i looked towards the door i saw a figure of a man. He was standing there first looking at me and then he slowly moved and turned towards the door and after about 10 or 15 seconds he disappeared. I knew i had seen a ghost but i wasn't frightened and i didn't feel any sort of harm from the ghost. I can describe exactly what he was wearing only he wasn't in color, it was almost as if he was see - through and thats the onoly way i can describe because i could see the outlines and the full bodied figure of the man but he was almost invisible. He was about 5'7", wearing work slacks and a tucked in button down plaid shirt. His hair was short and he looked old and his hair looked gray. I'll never forget the man i saw in room 326 at Red Roof Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager207, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Akron, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We always appreciate our guest's comments regarding their recent stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn - Akron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Akron

Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Akron
Akron Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn - Akron Ohio
Address: 2939 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312-4717
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Akron 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles north of the Akron Canton Airport, this Red Roof is in the center of it all. We are just 6 miles from the University of Akron and the new Infocision Stadium. We are just 10 miles from Akron Children’s Medical Center, Summa Hospital, and Akron General. Family activities include a visit to the Akron Zoo (7 miles away), Pro Football Hall of Fame (13 miles away), Stan Hywet Hall and Gardens (10 miles away), or the home of the International Soap Box Derby at Derby Downs (10 miles away). Goodyear Corporate Headquarters is just a 15 minute drive and we are within walking distance of various shops and restaurants. All rooms offer free WiFi, flat screen TV, clock radio, free voicemail and extended cable television including HBO. Select rooms offer microwave/refrigerator units. Free coffee and tea is available in the lobby. FREE WI-FI! One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Akron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn - Akron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.