We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest hotel in memory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Akron-South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Akron-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Akron-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   880 Arlington Ridge East, 3235 South Arlington Road (GPS), Akron, OH 44312   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Akron
long island
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendliest hotel in memory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel as a midpoint to Chicago and its short distance to both the Pro Football hall of fame and Cuyahoga Valley Natl. Park. Melissa who works the front desk was enthusiastically helpful with directions and appropriate hikes for our age.
On the second night of our stay, the manager, Ryan, gave a pizza party for the guests. His friendliness and high regard for his co-workers helps to make for a wonderful atmosphere. We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
7
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nice, clean and the staff was very nice. The breakfast was free and while it wasn't great, it was decent. Location was ok with many places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hampton Inn's speak for themselves. The room was a little warm, couldn't get the cool air to come on. Hard to breathe when sleeping. Orange Juice was warm for breakfast. Most important if you are going to swim, bring your goggles. Chlorine level is very high, which is good, but hurts. When my husband took his shorts off, the parts of the shorts that were folded were the original color and all the other parts were faded rather bleached to a different color.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stopped for 1 night to get out of the snow.....Everything up to the usual Hampton standard, but the surrounding area was a little depresssing, sorry Akron residents if I have misjudged you! An excellent nights sleep in a clean and tidy room, with a good "free" breakfast to follow.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were very pleased. Our room looked nice and was very clean. The continental breakfast was good, with a lot of options. All employees we spoke to were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My son and husband were on a college tour ans stopped here for the night. Got a great Triple A rate for $60. Good average hotel for a one night stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I were on are way back from a trip to Florida. We were 30 minutes from home but it was 3am in the morning, and thought it would be safer for us to just get a room. S we stopped at the Hampton Inn. The doors were locked and when the woman behind the disk came to open it she said the price for the rooms, like we couldn't afford it. She didn't even bother opening the doors. So we stayed at the Red Roof Inn and was welcomed with open arms. PS We make 300,000 a year between the both of us......! :)

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Akron-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Akron-South

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Akron-South Hotel
Hampton Inn Akron-South Hotel Akron
Hampton Inn Akron-South Ohio
Address: 880 Arlington Ridge East, 3235 South Arlington Road (GPS), Akron, OH 44312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Akron-South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn® hotel in Akron-South, we like to say that our town knows how to take the bumps out of your life. Drivers worldwide have ridden on rubber made in Akron. Legendary names such as Goodyear, Firestone and BF Goodrich located their tire-making facilities here. We're the hometown to other legends as well, including more NFL players than you can throw a pigskin at. Akron remains a delightful blend of the past and the present.Within just miles of our hotel in Akron, you'll find beautiful downtown Akron-as well as attractions such as the Akron Zoo and the Firestone Country Club. Our hotel in Akron is conveniently located only eight miles from the Inventors Hall of Fame. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Akron-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Akron-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.