We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else if you want to sleep well” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Akron

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn - Akron to your Saves list
Comfort Inn - Akron
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2873 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay somewhere else if you want to sleep well”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The first bad experience was navigating through the pot hole filled parking lot that was also poorly laid out for parking spaces. The second bad experience was the first room they put me in. The AC made a noise so loud I thought there was a semi truck in my room. The third bad experience was after my return home I found out they charged me for 2 rooms instead of one. When they switched me to the room with the quieter AC they still charged me for the original room plus the new room. I did get this straightened out but should not have had to.The fourth bad experience was when they moved me to a different room that had a quieter AC, it had a musty smell I noticed in the first room also but I finally got used to it. The fifth bad experience is the WiFi service. I travel for a major department of defense contractor and need the internet for work but was unable to maintain a connection for more than a minute or two. The sixth bad experience was the poorly maintained elevator. I have bad knees so I need to use the elevator but felt I was taking my life into my own hands when I used it. If you're traveling to the Akron, Ohio area, I'd highly advise you stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel in an OK part of town with lots of restaurants nearby and good road access. I marked this poor but really it rates between poor and average. I stayed for business and can make a lukewarm recommendation for business. No real amenities here and not particularly nice staff, but they got the basics handled. Also, internet service is kind of tricky. read the instructions before trying to log on. it will save a lot of trouble. If this place is full the parking can be a problem, but otherwise parking is fine if a bit of a tight fit on the access paths to the back of the building.
Now for the bad news. Needs some work in terms of cleanliness. The stairwells had a distinct aroma and the carpet had some areas that needed work.
The 'key-only' access from the back did not work. That is, you could just walk in. Not good, but the front desk was right nearby the path in from the back.
Good size room and mostly comfortable. One of the outlets did not work so I had to extend a cord across the room. Needs more lamps or lighting in general -- I have found that to be the case for many of the Choice Hotels. That is, they need more light in the room. The 'work area' was off in a corner, no problem, but there was only one floor lamp and that did not shine much light on the desk. That is also where the non-working outlet was located. Don't book here if you have high cleanliness standards since the smell will put you off. It is, overall, a decent place, and with some work could be much better.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank figit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akron hotels

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The service here was not all that great. I did not like anything really about the hotel. The location was about it. Rooms were average. and its kind of small so good luck getting a smoking room (if its still offered) just save yourself the trouble and go to the quality inn and conference center down the road about 1/4 of a mile. Much better there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Seems like the reviews of this place are a little harsh or they've done some changing. Second floor king room was large, clean and comfy. Indoor jacuzzi was small and not as hot as I prefer, but a nice touch after a long, hard day. Only concern was that the hotel sits basically in the parking lot of shopping areas. Had no problems with security and there are cameras all over the parking lot. Nice lobby area and breakfast room. All in all, decent place to stay in Akron.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee4Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I am EXTEREMELY UPSET with the customer service of this hotel. My daughter who is 18 was traveling from Massachusetts to Ohio to visit family. This was her first time traveling by herself on a "roadtrip". They were going to visit some zoos in Ohio on their way to Dayton area. We thought we lined everything up, UNTIL SHE ARRIVED AT COMFORT INN in AKRON, where she was presented with "DID YOU READ THE SIGN ONO THE WALL THAT SAYS YOU MUST BE 21 years of age" IN a very rude manner by the attendent at the desk. She stated that she could read the sign but the reservations were made online and the WEBSITE for Comfort Innn does not indicate that the customer must be 21 years of age to stay at the hotel. My daughter asked for a REFUND and again was presented with a UNCOOPERATIVE RUDE individual who stated - "there's nothing I can do for you, we can't rent you a room or a refund" Needless to say she called me from the parking lot in tears. I called the hotel and was giving the same information yet again in a VERY RUDE MANNER. "our policy states" when I asked where does it state that she said on the wall of the lobby. What good does that do when booking online, which does not state that anywhere on the website of Comfort Inn. My daughter is a VERY responsible 18 year old graduating from High school with honors. I understand policies and procedures and following them BUT THEY ARE NEVER STATED ON THE WEBSITE!! This is very unprofessional and created worry as I'm sure every parent can understand if their child was miles away from home!! THANK YOU QUALITY INN 5 minutes down the road FOR THE EXCEPTIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ACCOMMONDATIONS for my 18 year old!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Tina29506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We had a non-smoking room on the 2nd floor. It was clean with no smells. The bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly, especially the lady stocking the breakfast. A Four Seasons it is not, but it's a perfectly fine hotel, especially for $65.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spartankicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

I haven't stayed at a Comfort Inn for a long time. Paid $64 a night. The staff was very nice. Hotel had a makeover probably a couple of years ago, and the place already showed wear. Was dirty in areas, and the bed was very saggy, but what do you get for around $60 a night now a days???

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGreenthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
13.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Courtyard Akron Fairlawn
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Akron-Fairlawn
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Akron-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn - Akron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Akron

Address: 2873 S. Arlington Rd., Akron, OH 44312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Akron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Akron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn - Akron 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn - Akron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Akron Ohio
Akron Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing