We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shed Bar and Cafe

Shed Bar and Cafe
103 W Main St, Ashley, ND 58413
701-288-3087
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Ashley
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I recently had lunch at the Dakota Family Restaurant in Ashley, ND. I had the daily special which was scalloped potatoes and ham. It was a generous portion and very delicious. I also had a hot bowl of knoephla soup. The soup was thick, creamy and plentiful with homemade knoephla. I will definitely stop back for a bite to eat the next time I am in Ashley!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napoleon, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Guten Essen und Trinken.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Visited this restaurant twice last week. Once on Thursday for a RLND (Rural Leadership North Dakota) Short Course meeting. Enjoyed the salad bar and buffet and finished with pecan pie. Returned Friday for the Tri-County Tourism Alliance meeting and it was knephla soup all the way.! Yum!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Get Your Knoephla Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Hadn't eaten here in years, but will again in future! Passing the over-full bulletin board in the foyer, I entered the sunny front room of the restaurant early for lunch. A couple of tables were filled with old guys in late-morning coffee klatch, soaking up sun like a bunch of boxelder bugs. The lunch special was the old regional standard, ham-&-potato hot dish. An order of this fills half a large plate (with corn and a roll alongside), and it's full of big chunks of ham. Since this is German-Russian Country, I had to try the knoephla soup, too. These obviously are handmade knoephla, not frozen product, and the soup is creamy. A choice of pies for dessert, and I can testify the butterscotch was fine. There obviously is a German-Russian woman in the kitchen of this place! I need to go back on a Wednesday for the German specialties.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

a great place to eat and friendly staff, They have a wonderful German night on Wednesdays that is to die for!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shed Bar and Cafe also viewed

Been to Shed Bar and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shed Bar and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.