We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open Water Grill

Open Water Grill
39450 Hwy 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
+1 252-305-5287
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Avon
Price range: $12 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We are now open for the 2014 season with a new chef, and a new look! The Open Water Grill is the perfect oasis to unwind from a day full of beach activities! There is something for everyone on our extensive menu, including local NC fresh seafood. We offer live music every weekend and even have a complimentary shuttle service to make sure our guests can relax on their Outer Banks getaway without having to worry about having a designated driver. Come see what all the fuss is about!
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was my first trip to the Hatteras Island and this restaurant was by far one of the highlights of the trip. My friends and I had a great time, cute waitresses, fast service, good food, the works. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenWaterGrill, Public Relations Manager at Open Water Grill, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Our servers are thrilled about your compliment! Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    36
    12
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Avon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great food and reasonable prices. Awesome atmosphere loved sitting on the deck and watching the sunset. My family and I liked it so much we came twice! Really no comparison to the two other restaurants we tried in Avon. Will definitely be coming back next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I planned a weekend trip to Avon for our anniversary. When we arrived we drove by Open Water Grill and I knew then that we would love it! We turned around and decided to grab dinner. The view is absolutely breathtaking! The restaurant has a very open atmosphere and was very relaxing. The service was wonderful. I'm a very picky eater and had no trouble choosing my meal, and my husband's steak was cooked perfectly. It was an amazing way to start our weekend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letcher County,Ky.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Needs to Improve”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had waited all week to try the OWG while vacationing in the OBX. We were seated quickly as there were only a few people there. The waitress was friendly although she seemed a bit confused. I ordered ribeye and was told that they were out. Our waitress told me she wasn't expecting me to order that? I decided on the deep fried cornish hen and we waited about 40 minutes for it to arrive. As soon as I cut into it, a large amount of blood ran into my plate covering my side dishes. I gave it back and was told that it would be taken off our bill, but that the chef had checked it and the only under cooked area was the one I had cut into. I'm not sure if I was supposed to eat around it or what. On a plus note, my son in law ordered the cheese fires and they were great. Maybe things will be improved by our trip next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenWaterGrill, Public Relations Manager at Open Water Grill, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your input. We sincerely appreciate all feedback from our guests whether it is positive or negative. The experience you had is highly uncommon here at the open water grill, and we apologize that your item of choice was unavailable and that your second choice came out undercooked. We will be addressing the customer service issues you encountered as well. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Birthday Trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The wife, kids and I drove from Chesapeake, V.A. for a road trip and to experience the N.C. coast on my Birthday weekend, we stopped at Open Water Grill and we were immediately pleased with the atmosphere and wait staffs friendly attitude. I had the Rib eye steak and my wife had a pasta dish and of course the kids had an assortment of burgers and kids meals. All of it was great and cooked perfectly. I will recommend this place to anyone who likes great food and spirits, the wait staff were all great and we were very very pleased.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpenWaterGrill, Guest Relations Manager at Open Water Grill, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience! It is good to hear that the kids enjoyed their meals, too. All of the staff at the OWG hope that the remainder of your birthday was as great as your visit with us. We hope to see you later in the season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Open Water Grill also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
 
Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Open Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Water Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.