We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avon on the Atlantic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Motel

Avon Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avon Motel
Save
You added Avon Motel to your Saves list
Highway 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avon on the Atlantic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The room was certainly adequate for the night. There was a full-size refrigerator, queen size bed, flat screen TV, stove and oven, coffee maker, microwave, A/C, full bath and was just up a flight of stairs with a nice porch outside the door. The room was a very short distance from the Atlantic and easy to get to from the room. The decor is a bit out-of-date, but for the price, it was fine....a place to crash after spending the daylight hours on the beach! If you are looking for a place to stay that does not offer either a swimming pool or a fitness center but does offer a good night's rest at a very low price, you found it!

Room Tip: 2nd, top floor seems to be the best....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    5
    3
    23
See reviews for
14
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

SIGN IN ROOM on corkboard SAYS something like TAKE ALL YOUR TRASH OUT YOURSELF AND LEAVE ROOM AS YOU FOUND IT. WHAT THEY HAVE THE GUEST CLEAN THE ROOM. If I had taken my trash out I would have taken the whole room to dump. GO TO JAIL FIRST IT WOULD BE SAFER... I think I would have to get a drunk in public and get a night in jail before I would stay here again. OFFICE CLOSES AT 5PM. NO ONE TO CALL WITH A PROBLEM FROM YOUR OWN PHONE. NO PHONES IN ROOMS. Not on beach. Looks like built in 40 or 50. Can't believe pictures of motel on here because it didn't look like that. Needs lots of work. Furniture falling apart. sunk in on bed. Pillows where flat as pancakes.

WIFI NOT WORKING. (Seems to be a theme in reviews) I'm sure they don't have wifi since they don't have phones and 1970 tv's.

The Lady in office was nice and needs to get another job.
It was just my friend and I, we had no money to go somewhere else so we stayed awake half the night til we could get out of there. Hatteras Island is a place to rent houses NOT motels.

Hope this helps someone from the terrible night we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the most simple hotel I have ever been. It is clean, no worries about that, but needs tons of renovations. The place is well located and accepts dogs, so that's Great. If they could change carpet for laminated it would be even better, specially if near the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Actually this motel was an emergency stop. We were in the middle of nowhere on the Outerbanks where we were not sure if more motels/hotels were coming or not.
We were too far away to drive back to Kitty Hawk and as it was already pretty late and we were tired, we stopped at the Avon Motel.
I would not say a big mistake as we have seen worse but this is definately not a motel I would recommend. It was old, it was smelly and the bathroom didn't look very promising either. I did not dare to sit on the bed cover at all but the bed linen were clean.
In the night I had something sitting on my face, the next morning I figured out what it was when my friend started killing a cockroach. Wonderful!
If I may give you a good advice. Either you stay in Kitty Hawk and choose one of the many hotels/motels there or you keep on driving a bit more (10 minutes maybe) and find better looking motels later on. Most annoying was that we spent 100 Dollars for one night but given the alternatives in this village there was nothing we could do about it. However, the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed this past weekend,rooms have been redone with new carpet,paint and comfortable mattress.Going back 4th if july for fire works and pig picking.I read some other review and don't agree check it out for your self.I always looks at the room 1st haven't had a problem on 4 stays.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 40 is on top floor with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would not recommend this place for a family with children unless you are prepared to accept the overall condition of this motel. It has all the basic amenities. Linen is clean. Towels are old but clean. The bathroom is small. If you are used to the standard commercial 2-3 star American Hotel, then this is not the place for you.

I was out on a fishing trip, so I was not concerned about creature comforts. I just wanted a clean place to spend the nights. The owners can really do better to improve the landscaping and cleaning up the beach access. There was yard debris directly in front of the beach entrance. It will be a problem for seniors, or people with movement limitations to access the beach, obviously one goes to the beach to spend time in the Ocean, but the owner should clean up the place.

The staff at the motel are very accommodating an friendly. They work at the resort, and cannot do much if the owner does not want to spend the Capital to improve his property even though his rates have not been reduced.

Room Tip: There is not much that I can add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Ended up leaving before we even stayed. Was one of the dirtiest places I have seen in a long time. Ended up finding a cockroach under the one couch. All it seemed to me was someone owning a place making a killing and not putting anything back into it.

It is a nice location but other then that I would not recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Motel

Address: Highway 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Avon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Avon
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel Avon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.