We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, family-oriented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mad Crabber

The Mad Crabber
40606 Hwy 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
252-995-5959
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Avon
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, family-oriented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The food here was amazing!! The atmosphere is really good for kids. It is a little loud, so if you're looking for a quiet dinner, then go somewhere else. But if you want to go somewhere that's family friendly and it's ok if you're kids get loud, go here!! Best place on the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    18
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staten island
1 review
“NC Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Mad Crabber is our first stop for food on the Outer Banks. My husband & I have been going there since they opened in 1991? Best beer, food & staff, most have been there since the beginning. The crabber himself is a excellent chef & all his platers are full of great food. Very friendly & it's so nice to go back each year & find all the same. We love this place go & you'll see why.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent for AYCE crab legs plus delicious Oscar Mahi, crab dip, fish tacos and more! The servers are always friendly and attentive, it's a great atmosphere--picnic tables and noisy in a fun way....!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stopped in here for a late dinner on our way back to Buxton from Nags Head, and we all (including kids) ordered crabs. Holy cow, we got a lot of food. And it was all good! My kids loved drawing on the paper tablecloths, and the waitress we had was great. Really friendly. Also really appreciated the staff when my 5 year old was having a meltdown (apparently it was a little too late for dinner, Mommy's fault.) No dirty looks, only understanding ones. Super appreciated by this Mama! Was very pleased that there was no wait when we got there either. We'll be seeing ya next year, Mad Crabber!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Returned Once Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Four years later returned to the restaurant to eat while on vacation and everyone in our group was very pleased with their meals. The waitress was very kind but she did seem to have a bit of a problem when serving the food with remembering to bring us silverware and we had to ask a couple times for the dressing that was to go on our salads. But all in all it was a very good meal. The other issue was five in our group and we ask for four tickets, they will only give two so therr of us had to sit and break down our cost in order to pay. Since we generally pay with debit or credit cards we ask if she could ring it up separately but was told no so we had to divide cash out which was a pain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Crabber also viewed

Avon, Hatteras Island
Avon, Hatteras Island
 

Been to The Mad Crabber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mad Crabber, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.