We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windjammer Inn is a GREAT STAY!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windjammer Inn
Save Saved
You added Windjammer Inn to your Saves list
103 Salter Path Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Windjammer Inn is a GREAT STAY!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Love this place. I've stayed here three times. The king size room with the jacuzzi is great. The walk in showers with multi-shower heads. Right at the beach. Close by excellent food locations. Will be back.

Room Tip: King Jacuzzi room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    54
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
47
63
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel gave us a room that smelled so bad we couldnt stay there. Our concerns were rebuffed with a stern "We gave you a refund, didn't we?". This after our family had taken up at least 5 rooms in the hotel. Finally, we had to find another hotel nearby and they didn't even offer to cover the extra we had to pay for the room. We are never going back to Windjammer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottManager, General Manager at Windjammer Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We would like to apologize again for the smell in your room when you arrived. Some contractors/workers rented that room prior to your stay and from what we can deduce something was spilled onto the carpet. We had the carpet professionally steam cleaned before you arrived but the smell did not dissipate enough before your arrival. After you left we called our carpet cleaners and they did the room again. That seemed to take care of the problem and the room has been rented every day since.

Being 100% full all I could offer was a complete refund. We realize that we are a destination hotel and we hate whenever somebody has to change property. We are sorry that you were not happy with a complete refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Maybe it was more than a bad room. We stayed in room 410 - a king jacuzzi room. The view was great but the jacuzzi leaked. The floor was wet when we got there and the room smelled moldy. Outside, the lagoon was dirty and had algae growing in it like it need to be cleaned, the water fall wasn't working, etc. There was no longer an outside bar and grill service and the complementary lobby coffee ends before 11 am. Housecleaning staff start banging on doors around 9 am. Different people at the lobby ever day - no one looked happy. It just kind of looked like something was going on behind the scenes - a management turnover or something - that no one wanted to talk about. Overall, it was a good trip but more so because of our time spent together under an umbrella on the uncrowded beach than the room. And then for the price - I'd really check elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the fourth or fifth floors for the best view of the ocean. Check out the Hampton I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottManager, General Manager at Windjammer Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. First we do have to apologize for the appearance of the lagoon. Our pump went out earlier in the week and we were assured the replacement pump would be here by Friday. Unfortunately it did not arrive until Monday. It was replaced and lagoon was drained and cleaned on Monday.
Regarding the floor being wet we checked the plumbing of the Jacuzzi and there are no leaks. The carpet being damp must have happened from the previous guest-sometimes they overfill the tub and are a little bit to exuberant.
We have never had a bar or grill here on property-we had a sandwich shop a few years ago, but the owner of the shop chose not to continue his operation here.
I am also sorry that you feel that you did not receive the service that you are used to here. There has been no change on owner or manager. Our staff has been here a number of years-I spoke to each individually regarding the importance of great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had the pleasure of returning to the Windjammer last week and as usual really enjoyed our stay---If you're looking for turn down service with candies on the bed this is not the place for you. What you will get is a clean bedroom with a fantastic view at a reasonable price. The staff is very friendly and helpful and treat you like family. I am happy to recommend the Windjammer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottManager, General Manager at Windjammer Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking time to right a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great location...nice hotel...nice pool area! If you want a quiet hotel with a great pool and hot tub, this is the place. A short walk up the steps, and you are on a nice beach with not a whole lot of people. Free chairs, clean beach and a free umbrella put out on the beach for you..who could ask for more??

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottManager, General Manager at Windjammer Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much we look forward to seeing you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great experience! We had to call twice for reservations(couldn't decide). Second Call Mark rearranged some things that allowed to stay our requested days. Thanks Mark!
Some reviews were negative, some silly. Our experience was a Clean, Well organized, Friendly staffed hotel! The view is awesome and beach access unbeatable! Give them a try! We'll be back in August.Thanks!

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

If you're looking for an upscale room with all the bells and whistles, this is not the place for you. However, if you're looking for a place that is steps from the beach with a beautiful and immaculately clean pool area, and a fantastic view of the ocean from your room then I suggest you give the Windjammer Inn a try.
Yes, there was no free breakfast (although coffee is provided in the lobby each morning),no flatscreen tv and the bedspreads, curtains, and carpet could probably use an update. But the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, the microwave and fridge were nice to have on hand, and the shower in the bathroom was great. The view from our third floor room was phenomenal. My husband and I visited during the week in the middle of May and felt like we almost had the place to ourselves. Nice pool and jacuzzi, lots of chairs, beautiful lagoon and fountains, hammocks and chairs/umbrellas set up by the beach. The location is ideal for a trip into Morehead City or Beaufort.
As I said, it wasn't the fanciest room we've ever stayed in but we don't come to the beach to stay in our room anyway. This will definitely be our place of choice in the Atlantic Beach area from now on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Inn

Address: 103 Salter Path Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Windjammer Hotel Atlantic Beach
Windjammer Bed Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.