We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whaler Inn Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whaler Inn Beach Club
Save Saved
You added Whaler Inn Beach Club to your Saves list
323 Salter Path, PO Box 220, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Mebane,NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Love the Whaler Inn Beach Club.....many new upgrades....new kitchen countertops and cabinets....new ceramic tile throughout. Very comfortable. Great any time of the year...heated pool and hot tub. The staff are all very accommodating and always go out of their way to be helpful! Right on the beach......nothing like the view!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    16
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Love this place! Great family atmosphere. I feel comfortable sending my 12yo and 5yo together down to the beach while I watch from my third floor balcony. Decent wifi means I can choose between cable or my Hulu or Netflix accounts. The kitchens are in the process of being updated and the new ones are wonderful! They have moved the frig so there's enough counter space now. Plus having the washer and dryer in unit is great to keep up with sandy and chlorinated clothes.
My family has been coming here for years. And I'm seriously considering be a third generation owner of one of these time shares!

Room Tip: Splurge for an ocean front unit. Totally worth it to sit and watch the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a great time at the Whaler Inn, charming beach front room and nice facilities. Such fun when we visited with others down on vacation too. We will be coming back for sure. We did some of everything while here; preparing meals and eating in and dining out for breakfast lunch and dinner. Walk right out to the beach and take a stroll. Search for shells on the beach. Watch the moon and stars at night.

Room Tip: No restaurant on site but area restaurants are fantastic. Get ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had a party of six--four adults, two 9-year-olds--and thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks. It's right on the ocean with a very nice beach. Some years we've seen dolphins off-shore. If you don't want to swim in the ocean, there's a heated pool and hot tub. There are kitchens with dishwashers, etc., plus washer-dryer combo in every unit. If the kitchen doesn't have a pan or utensil you need, the office is happy to supply it, no questions asked. Managment has updated the floor--replacing hard-to-clean carpet with an attractive, easier-to-maintain tile, with some rugs at strategic points--and our unit had a couple accent walls instead of all blinding white. The furniture is comfortable. The fix-it man, Jeff, is very responsive -- we asked for a grab bar near our shower and he installed one in each of the two bathrooms within the hour, plus new wall cabinets over each toilet. There are plans to replace all bathroom vanity cabinets and mattress and, over the next two years, to update the kitchens all-round. Mattress are firm, but if you want it softer, the office will supply "egg-crates" to ease your sleep.

Room Tip: There are ocean-front rooms and ocean view rooms, depending on your wallet. There are efficencies, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for the first time last month and really enjoyed it. The beach is lovely, with lots of shells. The staff is helpful. Our unit was clean and the furniture comfortable. The 2 bathrooms need to be updated, which we were told would be happening. The main road is beautifully landscaped for a few miles before it becomes more built up. Someone at the resort recommended the Monkey Bar and Grill, which was very good. We ate there twice. That shopping plaza has a few nice shops, especially the one next door to the Monkey Bar. We also visited Ft. Macon, which was interesting. My husband golfed at Brandywine Bay and liked it very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been staying at Whaler Inn for several years and enjoyed it very much until the last couple of times we stayed. It seems the property managers, etc. are letting things go and not keeping things up. WE had NO hot water to take showers in the evening before going to dinner! When I called the front desk, the lady told me the water heaters are small and to wait an hour and try again! NOT One of us had a HOT shower before dinner! The lady said,"that's what happens when everybody takes showers back to back." NO one got a hot shower, we were sunburned and only needed warm water, not HOT! The time before this stay, I had school work to do, so I took my laptop as they are "supposed" to have WIFI. I NEVER got reception in the room and had to go to the lobby to get a connection. They told me they didn't know what was wrong and that was it. We had said with that some other issues at that stay, we wouldn't go back, but we tried once again! Well, all though we like the location and being able to walk right out on the beach, we will find elsewhere to stay from now on. For what they charge, I'm sure we can stay somewhere a lot better! They need some serious updates and renovations! We are through with Whaler Inn!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The room was nice and clean, and staff very friendly. Sauna and indoor pool were great options on the one day it rained. It's a timeshare so you can even buy a unit there at very reasonable price if want, just ask the management or check their website. Lots of great seafood restaurants and museums nearby as well, and s short ride/boatride to a deserted island with wild Spanish horses that you can walk right up to, though they recommend keeping your distance.

Room Tip: The building is shaped like an "L" so ask for a room on the oceanfront side if possible. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whaler Inn Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaler Inn Beach Club

Address: 323 Salter Path, PO Box 220, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Also Known As:
Whaler Inn Beach Club Hotel Atlantic Beach
Whaler Hotel Beach
Whaler Inn Beach Club Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaler Inn Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.