We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, and brought back memories.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Digger Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clam Digger Inn
Save Saved
You added Clam Digger Inn to your Saves list
511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
“Fun, and brought back memories.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I used to stay here all the time when I was a youngster when my parents would venture to Atlantic Beach. It was the Ramada then. Recently, I suppose I felt nostalgic and while my fiancé and I were in NC visiting from Florida, we decided to drop kiddo off at the in-laws place for a night and venture to the Clamdigger Inn. Booked same day, and when we arrived the front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. My fiancé, who worked in hotel management it literally a psychopath when it comes to cleanliness and is overly thorough when inspecting rooms away from home. After, what seemed to be a 14 hour inspection, she was satisfied, so was I very clean room, décor made me feel like I was at a Jimmy Buffet concert, but its the beach, that's to be expected. We live in Florida and mostly al the mom and pop shops are the same. Bartender was AWESOME, and helped us find some local spots to grab dinner at. All my beds at home are pillow top, and this wasn't but it wasn't bad either.....view was AMAZING, peaceful, serine, just what we needed. Did breakfast in bed the next working and the restaurant on site is on point! Year round Jacuzzi isn't a bad thing either. Loved the staff, loved the view, and for the price, you cant beat this place. Were headed back up for the holidays in a few weeks and I thought about booking a little snazzier joint but honestly, this place has everything you need...great spot, great staff good food (although Ill try dinner this time) and overall a great getaway. Ill see you on the 22nd!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    27
    22
    15
See reviews for
69
87
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Pauls, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there several times, May not be the newest place in town but it has everything you would want. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. The only thing I could ding them for would be the internet service, it doesn't cover the whole place. The staff are great especially Dora, who worked the front desk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I came for a relaxing long weekend to the Clamdigger Inn. I work in Vacation Rentals so I know what is important when guests are looking for a nice stay. I found everyone at the Clamdigger Inn to be nice and more than willing to help. The room was perfect for us. It was clean (with the exception of some stains on the carpet). Yes, the bathroom is small, but not much they could do about that now. The TV was a nice flat screen, and we found the mini fridge and microwave to be a nice asset. The view was amazing and we loved the balcony. The beach is lit up at night from the hotel lights so that was a really cool feature being able to see the beach at night. I did request extra pillows for our King Room and they were brought up immediately. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was awesome. They have the whole hotel decorated for fall and Halloween which was nice to look at. The only drawback (and we were on the 7th floor-top floor) was the smell in the hallways. It was not pleasant. Smells like the carpet padding has been wet more than once. Other than that, we would definitely come back to the Clamdigger Inn in the future. We may stay elsewhere next time so we can bring our dog but that would be the only reason.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halberstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel might not be the newest and the nicest, but the location directly on the beach is awesome and the hotel personal, that we met was really nice and lifted our mood.

The rooms were ok though, nothing to write home about, but everything there and in order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been coming to the Clamdigger for an October weekend for a number of years. We love the location, the ocean front rooms, the restaurant, and the people. And we notice that they are doing updates on the motel - the outside hallways now have glass going from floor to ceiling.

The one thing we wish they would upgrade are the front doors. They are manual and you have to go through two to get to the lobby. This is OK if all you are doing is walking in - but if you are carrying luggage in or out, it is very difficult to deal with the doors - and especially so when you are using a luggage cart. If they don't want sliding doors, then maybe one of those handicapped buttons that you can press to automatically open the doors - that would be an improvement.

Also, I know that they are using the lowest wattage of light bulbs in the rooms and bathroom and using the fluorescent bulbs too boot - but damn - I could barely see in the bathroom.


And last but least, put signs up at the elevators on each floor and in the lobby to the effect that guests should return the luggage carts to the lobby. It is a real pain when there are only 2 or 3 luggage carts and guests just take them to the elevator and leave them - you then have to stop on each floor until you find one. I know it is a matter of personal courtesy but if there were signs, maybe more people would remember to be courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Clam Digger Inn. It is not a chain hotel with granite counter tops in the bathrooms, but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was very nice. We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant located in the hotel. The beach was very nice. Chairs and umbrellas were available for rent. In the pool area there was a snack bar with drinks that were very reasonably priced. You can't beat the ocean view rooms with the private balconies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a military funeral so the hotel was nice enough to let us check in early. Upon arrival we checked into our room which was a disaster. It was not clean and there was blood and used condoms on the sheets on both beds. We asked the front to change the sheets and they never did. The staff was rude and acted as though everything was our fault. I contacted the hotel about my stay and all the general manager offered to do was refund $25.00 after I paid over $100. When I checked out I was told I would not be paying for my room but looks like this hotel is full of liars as staff. Do not waste your money here. I hope the health department shuts this place down.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clam Digger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clam Digger Inn

Address: 511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms with small refrigerators, microwaves and private balconies. Full Service Restaurant open daily 6:30 am - 9 pm. Lounge open nightly with DJ on weekends. Meeting space available for groups from 15 to 120 persons. Only 1 mile to the Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium. Six miles to Ft Macon State Park. We are a family oriented resort - children and young adults under 21 must be with parents. We do not accept pets. We do not accept reservations over the internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clam Digger Hotel Atlantic Beach
Ramada Atlantic Beach
Clamdigger Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Digger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.