We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Digger Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clam Digger Inn
511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Atlantic Beach
Saint Pauls, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there several times, May not be the newest place in town but it has everything you would want. The food in the restaurant is very good and reasonably priced. The only thing I could ding them for would be the internet service, it doesn't cover the whole place. The staff are great especially Dora, who worked the front desk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    85
    24
    21
    14
See reviews for
63
81
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manteo, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I came for a relaxing long weekend to the Clamdigger Inn. I work in Vacation Rentals so I know what is important when guests are looking for a nice stay. I found everyone at the Clamdigger Inn to be nice and more than willing to help. The room was perfect for us. It was clean (with the exception of some stains on the carpet). Yes, the bathroom is small, but not much they could do about that now. The TV was a nice flat screen, and we found the mini fridge and microwave to be a nice asset. The view was amazing and we loved the balcony. The beach is lit up at night from the hotel lights so that was a really cool feature being able to see the beach at night. I did request extra pillows for our King Room and they were brought up immediately. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was awesome. They have the whole hotel decorated for fall and Halloween which was nice to look at. The only drawback (and we were on the 7th floor-top floor) was the smell in the hallways. It was not pleasant. Smells like the carpet padding has been wet more than once. Other than that, we would definitely come back to the Clamdigger Inn in the future. We may stay elsewhere next time so we can bring our dog but that would be the only reason.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halberstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel might not be the newest and the nicest, but the location directly on the beach is awesome and the hotel personal, that we met was really nice and lifted our mood.

The rooms were ok though, nothing to write home about, but everything there and in order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have been coming to the Clamdigger for an October weekend for a number of years. We love the location, the ocean front rooms, the restaurant, and the people. And we notice that they are doing updates on the motel - the outside hallways now have glass going from floor to ceiling.

The one thing we wish they would upgrade are the front doors. They are manual and you have to go through two to get to the lobby. This is OK if all you are doing is walking in - but if you are carrying luggage in or out, it is very difficult to deal with the doors - and especially so when you are using a luggage cart. If they don't want sliding doors, then maybe one of those handicapped buttons that you can press to automatically open the doors - that would be an improvement.

Also, I know that they are using the lowest wattage of light bulbs in the rooms and bathroom and using the fluorescent bulbs too boot - but damn - I could barely see in the bathroom.


And last but least, put signs up at the elevators on each floor and in the lobby to the effect that guests should return the luggage carts to the lobby. It is a real pain when there are only 2 or 3 luggage carts and guests just take them to the elevator and leave them - you then have to stop on each floor until you find one. I know it is a matter of personal courtesy but if there were signs, maybe more people would remember to be courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Clam Digger Inn. It is not a chain hotel with granite counter tops in the bathrooms, but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was very nice. We had a lovely breakfast in the restaurant located in the hotel. The beach was very nice. Chairs and umbrellas were available for rent. In the pool area there was a snack bar with drinks that were very reasonably priced. You can't beat the ocean view rooms with the private balconies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We were in town for a military funeral so the hotel was nice enough to let us check in early. Upon arrival we checked into our room which was a disaster. It was not clean and there was blood and used condoms on the sheets on both beds. We asked the front to change the sheets and they never did. The staff was rude and acted as though everything was our fault. I contacted the hotel about my stay and all the general manager offered to do was refund $25.00 after I paid over $100. When I checked out I was told I would not be paying for my room but looks like this hotel is full of liars as staff. Do not waste your money here. I hope the health department shuts this place down.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stay here a couple of times a year - Dora, the front desk manager, is a Saint! A much better value than the Doubletree. My only complaint is that they have very uncomfortable beach chairs (for rent) and the BEACH MASTER IS A REAL CURMUDGEON!!!!!

Very clean and well equipped rooms with a balcony facing the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clam Digger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clam Digger Inn

Address: 511 Salter Path Road, PO Box 846, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All oceanfront rooms with small refrigerators, microwaves and private balconies. Full Service Restaurant open daily 6:30 am - 9 pm. Lounge open nightly with DJ on weekends. Meeting space available for groups from 15 to 120 persons. Only 1 mile to the Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium. Six miles to Ft Macon State Park. We are a family oriented resort - children and young adults under 21 must be with parents. We do not accept pets. We do not accept reservations over the internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clam Digger Hotel Atlantic Beach
Ramada Atlantic Beach
Clamdigger Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Digger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clam Digger Inn to your Saves list