We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanana Family Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanana Family Motel
Save
You added Oceanana Family Motel to your Saves list
700 East Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Hanover Park, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My adult daughter and I spent two nights at Oceanana, had a great time. The beach, the pool, the breakfast, the employees all were wonderful. It has a retro feel and we loved it. The bathroom could have been a little nicer but overall, the room was clean, the a/c worked great and the beds were comfortable which is the most important thing. We loved walking on the fishing pier in the evening, loved how close we were to great restaurants and shopping, and especially the private beach and the courtesy of the employees who carried our lounge chairs and umbrellas to the beach for us. I would love to come back with the rest of my family. It is a family friendly resort and I am very happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
58
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We had a room they call it suite - reserved for 177$ a night for 2 nights at this motel..! Room 133 - not what we expected for this price:(.We stayed at his motel before but i guess we had the standard rooms upstairs before that were clean and in better shape. So we declined the room, turned around, tried to find another hotel but all booked so going back home. Really disappointed, and we Are Not coming back to this motel again.oh no free fishing either the website advertisement is a lie

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Laurica1028, we are so embarrassed you experienced this complete oversight on our part and we apologize profusely. Many of our rooms have recently undergone renovations and updates, but we missed the room you were booked into; the fault lies with us. The very evening you left, we closed the room for maintenance. We have already ordered replacement furniture, carpet treatment, and painting among other tasks to improve the suite. We refuse to open the room until it is in satisfactory shape.
As for the website advertising free fishing passes, it states: "Resort guests are provided with complimentary fishing passes before Memorial Day weekend and after Labor Day weekend. Complimentary passes are not provided during the summer season." However, you complaint shows that one statement on only one part of our website is not enough to keep our guests informed. From now on, we will be posting a similar statement to each of the room descriptions to better clarify when we offer free pier fishing.
We thank you for your complaint and once again apologize for your experience. Please give us another chance to redeem ourselves in your eyes by booking another stay and letting us take care of the bill for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great private beach and pier. Property is kept up immaculately. Very considerate staff who can't help you enough. Safe, old school, free coffee and ice. Will definitely stay again. It was my husband's birthday and a set of balloons, a bandana, and a card signed by the staff was in terms room when we arrived!

Room Tip: Standard suite great for two. Kitchenette has the basics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My family and I grew up going to the Oceanana and we have loved it ever since they opened! My mom grew up going there as did I and so are my kids! The rooms aren't fancy by any means but if you rent a suite you can easily sleep 5-6 in there comfortably. If you are looking for a fun family oriented vacation this place has it all, not just the beach, which does have lifeguards, but they also have a pool, a fishing pier, bikes for the kids to ride in a certain area along with a large play ground and play area. If you decide you don't want to eat out, they have charcoal grills you can use at no extra charge and every morning they have a free continental breakfast for all! You will love it here and it may even become your most favorite place to visit in the Southern Outer Banks!

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking ask the front desk to reserve a suite for you near the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanana R, Front Office Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you, Elizabeth! We're glad to hear you have such happy memories with us. We do not have lifeguards on our beach, the employees you saw are our Beach Services staff. Beach Services provides beach chairs and umbrellas to all of our guests, as well as take care of daily maintenance in the beach, pool, and playground areas. Rest assured, they keep a sharp eye out for any potential hazards around the property and will warn you if the surf is too rough to play in. The suites you mentioned (1st floor, close to the beach) are now called our Premier Suites and are currently being renovated, as you can see on our Facebook page. We’ll have new pictures of the Premier Suites up soon.
We look forward to seeing our regulars every year, and we hope to see you all soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for NC Seafood Festival. Rooms were clean & neat. Not fancy, but fine with two great amenities - the Atlantic Ocean on one side and a restaurant by the name of Amos Mosquito directly across the street. People were friendly. Pier was nice to walk & they serve breakfast by the pier. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I'd get one on the first floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This motel is a little old but the rooms are clean and the location is great. My husband and son love to fish so having the pier right beside the motel was very nice. We could sit on the beach and see them on the pier. One thing I really liked was they carry your beach chair and umbrella to the beach and set it up for you for no extra charge. Also in the off season, free pier passes come with the room rental. The playground was great for the grandbaby. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The resort is old but our room was clean and had two very good mattresses. The usual "ocean-wet" smell was minimal and the A/C worked really well. We enjoyed the overabundance of breakfast items which were self-served outside near the pool. It was nice to have someone ask you if you needed chairs and an umbrella to use at the beach (and then they carried them and set them up for you at no charge). There is a nice area for smaller children to play and we enjoyed free icecream one night after dinner. The staff is very friendly. My husband enjoyed fishing on the adjoining pier. We will return her next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a DownEast room. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanana Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Address: 700 East Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanana Family Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.