We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Oriented” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanana Family Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanana Family Motel
Save Saved
You added Oceanana Family Motel to your Saves list
700 East Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Stuart, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family Oriented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This motel is a little old but the rooms are clean and the location is great. My husband and son love to fish so having the pier right beside the motel was very nice. We could sit on the beach and see them on the pier. One thing I really liked was they carry your beach chair and umbrella to the beach and set it up for you for no extra charge. Also in the off season, free pier passes come with the room rental. The playground was great for the grandbaby. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
58
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The resort is old but our room was clean and had two very good mattresses. The usual "ocean-wet" smell was minimal and the A/C worked really well. We enjoyed the overabundance of breakfast items which were self-served outside near the pool. It was nice to have someone ask you if you needed chairs and an umbrella to use at the beach (and then they carried them and set them up for you at no charge). There is a nice area for smaller children to play and we enjoyed free icecream one night after dinner. The staff is very friendly. My husband enjoyed fishing on the adjoining pier. We will return her next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for a DownEast room. They are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My parents and I stayed at Oceanana during a Fri. - Sun. 3-day weekend. I reserved an upstairs room with 2 double beds which had a dorm size refrigerator, which was basically all we needed for 2 nights.
I have only 2 complaints about our stay here: My first complaint about our room is there was an odor which we noticed after walking into our room. We were told our room was "newly renovated", so the odor could have been a combination of paint and something else? The lavatory area looked new, as in the sink, fixture, and top had recently been replaced. The air conditioner was running full blast for who knows long, so we simply turned it off. After turning off the a/c we didn't notice the odor nearly as much. After a warm mid 80's day on Sat. I turned the a/c back on to low and the odor was barely noticeable. The second complaint I need to mention is the pillows on the beds are flat as pancakes! If you are a side-sleeper like me, take a nice thick pillow from home that will give your head and neck proper support!
My parents are in their mid-70's and they really enjoy staying here. They both love to fish off Oceanana's pier, which is very well maintained. Hotel guests receive FREE passes to fish on the pier! At the end of the pier, there is a covered gazebo type structure which is a very cool place to get out of the sun and watch the fisherman. Thanks to the friendly and very helpful staff at the front desk, we learned a fishing license is NOT required for an individual fishing off the pier. However, if you plan to surf fish, you will need to acquire a N.C. fishing license. Good to know, right?!
This hotel is very convenient to some great restaurants. If you stay here, it is well worth your time to take a short drive down to Ft. Macon State Park. We also went to the N.C. Acquarium at Pine Knoll Shores and we drove over to Beaufort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My Husband I have stayed there for 2years and we plan to stay there this year. The rooms are very comfortable. My husband relaxes and I do to. We stay for a week usually in October because it is not to hot and we can enjoy the beach. People there are very friendly and courteous. They are not fancy but I like comfortable. They are very clean,and that is what matters to me

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

So me and my lil guys were here 2 weeks ago... upon arrival it reminded me of something out of a horror movie. It was raining ridiculously hard for the entire trip and it was sooooo dark, I passed right by the resort hotel at first. Turned around in 3 inches of standing water to finally make my way up the little hill and I pulled into the parkinglot... A large glass office was there to great me and one of the gentlemen came out to welcome me. After checking in and getting my keys he offered to take my bags but we always travel light when going to the beach so we just had our back packs. the room was on the 2nd floor... glass sliding door and the room actually reminded me of a jail cell at first (no I've never been to jail... just tv references).
It was clean, very basic but not disappointing... as Im a pretty simple hotel person to please... the next day we went out to breakfast, more than your typical continental breakfast... it was a chow line set up and a covered veranda greeted us to seat. While eating we had views of the resort area... pool, tot lots, obstacle course and a awesome view of the pier and ocean. The beach was literally 50-100 feet away... the stay was great

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and south side have less noise from cars coming into the pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millers Creek, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights here very recently. This was the 2nd time we'd stayed at the Oceanana. I should have known better than to go back there. We weren't fortunate enough to get an "updated" room. They have A LOT of work to do before I will go back. Sliding glass doors that had gaps big enough for mice to get in when closed. Sticky carpet. TERRIBLE mattresses. Yellow stuff dripping down the wall in the bathroom. Even my 6 yr. old son complained about the bed. The bedside lamp had a short in it. We were going to voice our complaints before we left, but both people in the office were on the phone. We just didn't want to waste our time. I expect a better room for $135 a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is GREAT for families, especially with small children. Stayed there with my grandsons, ages 2 and 4. Everything we could want or need was there. Playground, riding toys, pools, beach, chairs, breakfast. I could go on and on. Great for the money. The place is a little older, but pretty well taken care of. I think I will make this a yearly vacation, at least until the kids out grow it, and then I may just go back myself. Relaxing and close to other attractions. If you are looking for a family friendly fun vacation, this is IT!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanana Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Address: 700 East Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanana Family Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.