We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanana Family Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanana Family Motel
Save
You added Oceanana Family Motel to your Saves list
700 East Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great place to stay as a family. Yes, the rooms aer older as this is a very old motel. Our room was clean, carpet was ok to be a beachfront family motel. The staff are very friendly. The guests are also friendly. The pool is nice and is deeper than most pools. They have grills you can use right in front of your room (on bottom floor- all things needed included). Continental breakfast is good with good selection. We had 2 teenage kids with us and they had alot of fun. My son wants to stay here each time we come. The pier is right next to it. It is only about 4 or 5 blocks from "the circle" and beach shops- so walking distance-Definatly recommend to people with children. They also are one of the few motels that have a seperate room- if you have older children with you-

Room Tip: lower level- you can grill in front of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    15
    16
    22
See reviews for
58
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I were able to book a room last minute at the Oceanana . The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean but very out dated. I was impressed how the staff seemed to be proud of their resort and were pleasant to all guests. I would return to this resort simply because they do not nickle and dime you for your stay. It is a wonderful place to relax and for kids to play.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Oceanana is a great place to stay with or without children. My family has been going there for years and I love it. They have swings, bikes,basketball court,playhouse,toddler play area, and thats just for the children. If the kids are happy and playing then the parents are sure to be happy. Website also states that fishing passing are given offseason you just need to READ. My family and I will be back at Oceanana July 18, and as for me and my family we cant wait, this is part 2 of our family reunion. Thanks to the big grill that they have we always have a big cookout and sit around and relax and enjoy each other as you should on vacation.

Room Tip: Downeast rooms are good for added room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Please do not listen to the negative nancies, If you are looking for the Hilton, this is not your place. If you are a tired parent and the thought of lugging beach chairs, coolers and everything that goes along with a kid then this is your place. We have been coming here for three years, multiple times a season. We stay long weekends.They take the work out of a beach trip. this is the beach and we have no problem with the price. We have stayed at other places and we know what they charge, so when the take the work out of the trip for us, we have NO problem paying the price.
You are thinking....what work....well, they will put their chairs and umberellas out on the beach (so do not pack yours!) they will even put an umberella at the pool for you. The pool has a wall seperating the kiddie 2 ft. pool from the rest. we love this because my 2 year old can play and my 4 year old can climb over the wall and feel like a big girl. The breakfast is vast and perfect for even the picky eaters.they had cereal, oatmeal, grits, several juices, chocolate and regular milk, cheese cubes, many individualized patries such as honey buns, doughnuts, pecan swirls, etc....they had plenty. They have a coffee bar near the ice machines all day if you are a coffee drinker. You can sit and enjoy your breakfast while your kids can play on some toys. They even have bicycles that they can ride on the bike path. There is swings,slides, fireman poles, many games that the whole family can play. You can even walk next door to the pier, which my kids love at night to see the catch of the night. we do eat breakfast at the pier next door at least once, which is always good. We have adult beverages all day on the beach and walk over to Amos Mosquitoes.....what more can we say for a relaxing day on the beach with kida? We got a suite, the room was clean and none of us had any problems sleeping soundly ever night!! The beds were comfortable, clean and had no problems whatsover with the A/c. It was very cold......The suite had two-burners, dorm frig and microwave...perfect for us. They also provide grills, charcoal, lighter fluid and all the paper products, plates, forks, etc. All you do is show up with the meat. It was so nice to see so many families enjoying themselves at night after a day on the beach or by the pool. We walked around at night and let the kids play on the playground and we enjoyed our adult beverages. There were rocking chairs that many of the grandparents enjoyed. I am not sure if they have an elevator, so if you have anyone elderly request a first floor room. They also have buggies that you can push your kid to the room from the beach.

Room Tip: request near the ocean...they have little tykes buggy strollers so you can push your little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I went to Oceanana resort many times as kid and I loved it, so I thought we'd go again, only to be EXTREMELY disappointed. First of all, we paid $160 for one night for a standard room. As we enter the room, we see that the door to the room is nothing but a sliding glass door, which is not air-tight, as my husband was able to stick his finger between the two glass doors. The room is extremely tiny, enough so that the refrigerator is IN the bathroom because the room isn't big enough to put it any where else. The bathroom door would not close all the way, which was very awkward considering we were staying with another couple. There was hair all over the shower, floor, and ceiling, yes, ceiling of the bathroom. We were not able to fish for free, as the website says, because, unbeknownst to us, we are given free "tropical" breakfast instead this time of the year (which we were told as we tried to go on the pier, fishing gear in hand). This lovely "tropical" breakfast consisted of many things, including expired snack cakes and spoiled milk. We were informed at the pier that this deception about free fishing is a common problem, as the pier and "resort" are owned by two separate companies, and the "resort" doesn't always tell customers that the free fishing is for only certain parts of the year. We were also told that the "resort" tells many customers that the fishing on the pier is always GREAT, even when its not, to draw more customers to stay there. Needless to say, after our one night of drastic disappointment, we will certainly NEVER stay at the "resort" again. However, we will visit the pier again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Oceanna Motel has been there for around 50 years (some parts newer). It's a very good beach motel, but don't expect it to be plush. I've stayed there many time over the last 30 years, and had one issue about 25 years ago. The fishing pier is right next to the motel and you fish free in the off season. I recommended it to the lady I work with about 10 years ago, and they go there once or twice each year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraceCooperNC, Public Relations Manager at Oceanana Family Motel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
The Oceanana has been hosting family vacations in Atlantic Beach since 1959. And, as some of the reviews have noted, 50 years of operations can take their toll on a facility. Although, we have constantly performed maintenance and upgrades over the years, in 2012 we have undertaken a major renovation of our resort to ensure that our guests are as comfortable today as our first guests were years ago.

We have upgraded our air conditioning system, added new flat-screen TV's in many rooms, painted and refinished walls in many of the rooms and are currently in the process of complete renovations (new carpet, drapes, bath fixtures, electrical, etc) of several rooms. We will continue these complete renovations throughout the year so that there will be an increasing number of "new" rooms available for our guests as the year progresses.

We've also added new staff to ensure that our rooms' cleanliness is top notch. As this guest noted, we are not a Ritz-Carlton. But, with our significant investment in renovations, new equipment and staff we have addressed many of the problems noted in other reviews below.

We've always had a wide sandy beach, fun pool, fishing pier and the largest playground in the area, but now our rooms are getting back on par with our other amenities.

We've also recently launched a new web site that will be continually updated with new photos as our renovations evolve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed over the summer with my girls for a girls weekend. Yes, it wasnt clean but it was close to the beach. They have boys that work out by the beach that will carry out an umbrella and beach chair for you so that makes for a plus.
Now for the negatives of our first trip,. With in 5 minutes of our arrival the toliet was over flowing and plugged. Which required us to call for help. The mattresses and pillows are aweful! The pillow are flat, bring a few from home you will need them. You can feel every spring in your back on the mattress., It pops and creaks everytime you move. The last day of our girls weekend i awoke to the air being out. Called downstair and they sent up a new window unit,

Second trip - just this past weekend. 3rd week of september. Air Conditioning has been shut off in the building for the season. Now mind you, in north carolina in september it is not uncommon to have 90+ degree days in September. I went to the office and was told they would send someone down to fix the problem, The fix was a box fan. :(
We had a 1 bedroom "suite" when we returned from dinner my son killed a roach in the bedroom. The next morning when i made the pull out sofa (which looked like new!) there was a dead roach in the cushion.
Over the summer they had a "free breakfast" which consisted of muffins, juice, fruit, cereal. In September they did not offer the free meal.

in conclussion, we wont be returning. I paid $169.00 for a non ocean view room in September. I think the rate is high. I could have stayed in Wrightsville, Topsail , or Carolina Beach for around $100.00 in a much cleaner room, next time i will!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanana Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanana Family Motel

Address: 700 East Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanana Motel is a unique family destination on North Carolina's Southern Outer Banks. Featuring one of the widest private beaches on the coast, a 1,000 foot long fishing pier and a large children's playground, there is plenty to do for everyone in the family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oceanana Hotel Atlantic Beach
Oceanana Resort Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanana Family Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.