We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUT DOOR BUT GOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shark Shack

Shark Shack
100 S Durham Ave, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
910-639-0815
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Tampa FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OUT DOOR BUT GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place advertises itself as a beach fast food experience and that is what it is. You order at a window and they call you when the food is ready. It is not as fast as McDonalds, but pretty quick. Prices are nowhere near Mickey D's, but the food is way better. Hush Puppies were excellent. Plenty of food with each serving. The only drawback is the outdoor seating at picnic benches. But the area is clean and well maintained and there are things for kids to play with like corn hole, hula hoops, etc. Overall a good experience for lunch with no frills.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    39
    21
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Del Rio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

In numerous past visits the food/experience has been outstanding. In the past 4 day we have been here twice and the food has been marginal, at best. The portions are noticeably smaller. The grouper sandwich was thin and we wonder if it was actually grouper.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Regarding "horrible experience" post”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dear Reviewers,
Your thoughts and opinions are very important to us and our business. Customer satisfaction is our main goal in serving you. In regards to the post titled, "horrible experience" by Michael C. We would like to inform you that he is a former employee who was let go from the business last year due to private reasons. We are aware one bad post sometimes stands out amongst all the others. We hope you take the time to come and decide for yourself. We value our customers and would love your business!

Thank you,
The Shark Shack

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun in the sun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We drop by and turned around. You never know about a place until you stop. We had not heard anything about it, but we saw Group Sandwich. Oh yes, we love us some fried grouper. Guess what? It's great, and a lot too. Plenty of hush puppies or fries. Both are good. They were nice and subbed a salad for the fries on the kids tender meal too. I thought the drink size was small for $2.00 but the free refills were a good trade off. It,s outdoors, so it may not be as pleasant in the heat. It was about 83 today. We got in a couple games of corn hole and ate there at about 6-7pm. The front counter person was very friendly. They also welcome your four legged friends. My wife drop back to the cottage to have out dogs hang out for dinner. They were confused as to why she brought them for just that bowl of water. I'm thinking that they wanted our grouper! I almost forgot, Two boys share the fried shrimp salad and said it was plenty....they shared it! It seemed a bit pricey to me at $55 for lunch...seafood does get expensive around here. It's less than the sanitary, and other seafood places.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Grouper bites are fresh, delicious and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

all our meals were delicious, they fries were hot and plentiful. The owners brought us out some free fried oysters to taste - YUM

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Shack also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shark Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shark Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.