We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gotta Time it Right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shark Shack

Shark Shack
100 S Durham Ave, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
2527235266
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Fresh seafood and Tacos, wraps, blackened fish,fried oysters, crab cakes ,grouper bites
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gotta Time it Right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I noticed a lot of the negative reviews had to do with the dining arrangements. (I also noticed that of the 2 "terrible" reviews one was written by a yankee so that one can be ignored out of hand).

We visit the beach 12 months a year. Sometimes, ladies and gentlemen, one ought choose a dining location other than one that only offers outdoor seating. That is just a tip for those who are taking notes. That being said, this is a great go-to spot for shoulder season. For the money the fried seafood is right on. In fact, you can spend a lot more for mess that is not as good. The burgers will put you to sleep in 30 minutes.
I'm not saying I'd make a road trip just to hit the Shark Shack but if you are staying in the area you will probably drive by several times. If the crowds and weather are right and you are not frightened by your cardiologists admonitions, park your rig and grab a substantial eat with your hands meal. Somebody in the group needs to order the grouper bites for sharing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You have to try the grouper bites! Outstanding!! It's fun to eat outside on the picnic tables and enjoy the ocean breezes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“OK Food, Staff is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went here based on TripAdvisor reviews. They mostly do fried seafood. The food was OK.

When we were there, it was pretty cold, so we could not eat there as ALL the seating it outdoors. My husband did make the comment that if it had been warmer and we could have stayed and eaten there in their garden area with a beer, it would have tasted much better. The outdoor garden area looks cool. They have corn hole. There are picnic tables and lights and I am sure they have some cool music going, so yes a nice summer night atmosphere probably makes this place.

The staff there was SO nice and we wish them the best.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Perfect spot after a day at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very cool little outdoor eatery. Food was great, prices fine, and the owner was nice and went out of his way to make sure we were enjoying our meal. Great place to take the kids to after a day at the beach.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food is just okay and the service not so great. You have to eat outside, so make sure you are dressed for it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shark Shack also viewed

Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shark Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shark Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.