We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak WIFI connection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis Lodge
Save
You added Atlantis Lodge to your Saves list
123 Salter Path Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Weak WIFI connection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is a great and relaxing place especially for those traveling with pets. However, if you think you can use the Internet keep in mind that it does not work inside you room and you have to go outside and sit next to the main office to get a decent wifi reception. So if you plan to do some work on your laptop, forget about it. The internet is also extremely slow.
For some reason this year, the steep stairs leading to the beach are not illuminated at night (somebody is going to break their leg). It is extremely dark and you can barely find those stairs if you decide to walk on the beach after sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
The internet has been slow and we are so sorry that you were not able to use it as much as you needed! We have improved it since that time and it has gotten better. Thank you for your comments and hopefully we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    43
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
98
122
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After reading all of the positive reviews here on TripAdvisor, we booked three nights at the Atlantis Lodge in July 2013, and we are so glad we did! Though a bit pricey, it was the perfect way to celebrate our upcoming 10th wedding anniversary.

The location is superb, with all of the rooms in each building facing the Atlantic Ocean. Beach access is quick and easy, and the hotel even has attendants to help set up the beach umbrellas and chairs provided by the hotel. Our queen suite on the third floor was spacious and bright, and the balcony view overlooked the hotel grounds and the beach. The grounds are extremely well-kept with bird feeders, yard art sculptures, and attractive plantings scattered about. Whenever we interacted with the staff, they were warm and helpful, whether when checking in or when asking for a bottle opener. Other guests also seemed relaxed and friendly.

The Atlantis is by no means a "luxury" hotel, in that the rooms still have some vestiges of decades past (wood paneling, wall paper on another wall) and there are no elevators, exercise rooms, etc., but it was the perfect combination of beauty, relaxation, and great service we had hoped for. The additional amenities like the beach attendants, the on-site grills, and the covered porch with patio furniture all combine to make this a place you'll want to stay a while. The hotel is also extremely pet-friendly, with many families traveling with dogs when we were there.

If we ever get the chance to return to the Emerald Isle and the Crystal Coast, we'll definitely be coming back to the Atlantis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I love the pictures that you took! Thank you for spending your anniversary at our lodge and enjoying the amenities! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Atlantis for many years, and we make new friends each year, from all over our wonderful country, and see many of the friends that we have made over the years. All of the rooms face the ocean either directly or at a slight angle. Many of the rooms have kitchenette, and set up for cooking a meal. The lovely pool (which when we are there in the winter is not available). For many years I came in the summer and enjoyed the pool, and the ocean, the pool is shaded and there is a children pool below the waterfalls, a lovely place to relax. Many restaurants, both on the island and the mainland to enjoy some of North Carolina great food. In the area there is the Aquarium, Fort. Macon, an over the bridge to Beaufort several museums. A visit to Atlantis, you will find the staff friendly, and helpful, rooms are clean, and they allow pets that are well behaved. and a place to return to as we have year after year, for we call Atlantis our "Winter Home", a truly a place to relax, good for the soul, and to replenish oneself for life trials..... Thanks again, and hopefully we will see you this winter........

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view, there are no elevators at Atlantis........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
It is neat to see people who return every year and witness fun reunions that the guests have! Thank you for letting us be your "winter home" and writing a lovely comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in February while helping my in-laws with their business at the Morehead City Chocolate Festival. We had a place in Salter Path when I was a kid and I have probably been by this place hundreds of times but never needed to stay there or even taken a look around. The motel is hidden from the road by the gnarled trees lining the entrance and property. The art deco Atlantis Lodge sign is the first hint of the lodge's theme. When the lodge comes into view from the turn in the path, it's like you are instantly transported back to the 1950's or 60's. The lady in the front office was very friendly as was her golden retriever who was lounging on his bed beside the desk. As the owner of a large breed dog, it's nice to find a place that's truly dog friendly without a weight limit even though we didn't have our dog with us that weekend. We were given an actual key on a keychain for the room which is rare nowadays and made our way up to our third floor room. The lodge is set up as three buildings, three floors each, one facing the ocean directly and the other two at a slight angle towards the ocean. Our room was on the top floor corner of the ocean facing building and adjoined my in-laws' room. Our room was a basic 2 double beds with balcony but my in-laws adjoining room must have been a suite. They had a kitchenette, kitchen table, living room area with sofa, queen bed and their bathroom was slightly larger. The rooms were not lavish but they were nicely appointed with everything you might need, including pots, pans and utensils in the kitchen. The decor carried on the art deco theme from decades past but with a cool beachy twist. The ceilings, for example, were exposed planks and beams that were whitewashed in true beach bungalow fashion. There were also cute sea life fabric prints framed on the walls. The bathrooms were smallish but had been tiled and were clean as was the rest of the room. You could tell that someone had lovingly remodeled the lodge at some point, taking care to keep and restore the items that lend a vintage feel to the place. We did not make use of the outdoor facilities due to the cold weather but did take a walk around to check out the pool and sun deck. The pool is shaded by the neat curvy beach trees native to the area and is surrounded by a wooden deck with a hot tub nearby and plenty of benches/ seating. We also checked out the game room/ lounge for the lodge and the sun deck. Both of these are on the top floor of the end building facing at an angle to the beach. The lounge has men and women's bathrooms as you enter followed by a bar with cute retro bar stools and an open seating area with large, floor to ceiling sliding glass panels with a view of the ocean. There is a big screen tv in this area and table tennis area off to the side. Further down in the lounge is the game room area with a pool table and corner poker table. The walls are lined on one side with the same cute retro stool chairs and a built in book case filled with books. There is a giant guest log in the lounge with signatures and notes dating back to the 60's that is truly neat to look through. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy all the things that the lodge provided but we were there for work. We will definitely be making a return trip and next time we'll bring our dogs along. The Atlantis Lodge is worth every penny and is a must see if you want to picture what Atlantic Beach must have been like back in the early days!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a wonderful review! It really is like stepping back into the past with a modern twist. Sometimes a little dose of the old helps renew the soul! Thank you so much and we hope to have you all back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned home from the Atlantis lodge, you can't beat the location a very short walk to the beach. They also provided lounges and umbrella's to their guests. The set up of the hotel was very nice every room above ground level had a patio view of the ocean. It seemed to us that the hotel was catering to pet "dog" owners a lot. Now for our thoughts you might not agree but want you to know that nothing is stated on the website about the hotel and patios are NO SMOKING. I truly don't smoke in any hotel room nor our home, but on a patio facing the ocean with the breezes... they request you to sign an agreement to not smoke on the patios or on the open deck areas. Yet nothing is said on their website about this. The room we had was nice and clean but we're pretty sure no pets were ever there. Room issues: the toilet hardly worked and the handle was broken, the blinds were broken and didn't close enough to insure privacy. I think the owners have found a niche offering a beach hotel for pet owners.

Room Tip: if you ever had a dog you know that wet dog smell, i would ask about rooms that haven't been use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful view of ocean. Nice grounds with lots of bird watching thanks to the bird feeders. Nice flowers. Small but fun pool. They advertise internet; but dont really have it. They say they are going to upgrade. I had planned on doing computer work in the evenings but could not. They do have a nice game room with ping pong and pool. Refrig, toaster, and burners in room helped us save money by eating some meals in. I would return if wireless internet worked.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I am so sorry that the internet did not want to work during your visit. It is important to us as well that it is working and that it is accessible for our guests to use. We have worked on it since and it has gotten better. Thank you for your comments and hopefully we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

In June 2013 my husband and I stayed at the Atlantis Lodge with our Toy Fox Terrier, Charlie (51/2 pounds). This property is an older one (has been around for many years) but is immaculately clean and well maintained. The grounds are lush green grass and have ample room for pups "to do their business". Guests are helped in the necessary clean up by numerous available scoops in case you forget your "poop bag". Since Charlie does not "play well with others", it was good to have a choice of areas to walk him - we could avoid other dogs (I am afraid Charlie did not even appreciate the 2 beautiful Afghan hounds who elegantly paraded around!). The front desk people are friendly and accessible. Water bowls are situated conveniently for pets outside and there is even a tub for rinsing off sand from dogs returning from the beach. There is management tolerance for dogs' natural actions (like greeting barking), but they will intervene if a dog barks so much it is disturbing to other guests - so you don't have to fear dog guests even if you are so unfortunate to have to come to a great beach without your "best friend" (the canine one, of course). Give this place a try - with or without your pet.

Room Tip: Our room (351) had a great view of the ocean and I could sit on the couch and watch the waves and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, General Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
I believe I remember Charlie! The area is laid out in a way that everyone, including our furry friends, can have a bit of space to themselves. Thank you for bringing your best friend with you and hopefully we will see you all in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Lodge

Address: 123 Salter Path Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis is a special place created from a beautifully wooded, oceanfront site, unlike any other on the coast. Most of our units are suites with efficiency kitchens, dining, living and sleeping areas. All have patios or decks facing the surf, cable TV with remote, HBO, and all expected amenities including high-speed internet access. And yes, we do accept your pets in most units at a minimal fee. We are a very special place on the "Crystal Coast." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantis Motel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.