We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ocean Front Pet Friendly Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Atlantic Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis Lodge
Save
You added Atlantis Lodge to your Saves list
123 Salter Path Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Atlantic Beach
King, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ocean Front Pet Friendly Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My family and I have been making an annual visit to this motel for almost 20 years. It is pet friendly and our two canines LOVE staying here just as we do. The grounds are beautiful and it is right on the ocean. The third generation of this family, the Halls, is now running this wonderful motel. There are beach chairs and umbrellas which are placed on the beach each day at your request. The rooms are freshly painted and remodeled as necessary each and every year The staff are always congenial and helpful. My uncle owned the first motel on Emerald Isle, so I have been going to this area for more years than I care to admit. There is NOWHERE which we would rather stay on the East Coast than this beautiful place!

Room Tip: I inadvertently rated "restaurant" in error....however, there are many wonderful restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We love the fact you have been coming for 20 years and still took the time to say such positive things and let others know how you feel. Thank you so much and can't wait to see you again in 2013!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    43
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
98
122
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henrico, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I grew up in NJ and spent summer vacations "down the shore" in Beach Haven and Wildwood. I thought that was the best thing since white bread until my husband and I discovered the Crystal Coast, Atlantic Beach and most importantly, Atlantis Lodge. The ambience of this location is a throw back to the old time beach vacations of my childhood in the '60s - clean and comfortable accomodations with friendly and helpful owners and staff, long walks on a wide, uncrowded beach where other stollers stop to chat, friendly guests, and the sights, sounds and smells of the ocean.

This was our second visit to Atlantis Lodge, and I think it will become our annual anniversary getaway in early October. That in itself is unusual. We like to try new places and rarely visit the same place twice, but Atlantis Lodge and Atlantic beach have stolen our hearts. There are so many touches that make this place special to us that it's heard to create a short list - the clean, comfortable rooms, some with a small kitchen/ dining area, a spacious balcony overlooking the ocean, views of sunrise AND sunset, wonderful owners who are awlays available to anwer questions or just chat, a terrific helpful staff, waking up to the trill of birds in the small bird sanctuary in the maritime forest between the hotel and the beach... long stretches of fine white sand, sea shells, a gentle warm surf ( even in October), lounge chairs and umbrellas and kids beach toys to borrow, a game room where I actually beat my hubby at ping pong. There is a quiet swimming pool tucked in a secluded area that includes a kiddie pool for our grandson once is is old enough.

If relaxing, swimming, and walking the beach isn't enough (or for a rainy day acivity) there is a fabulous nearby aquarium and historic fort to explore as well as a day trip to Shackleford Banks fro great shelling and the chance to see wild horses. BYW if you don't feel like cooking in the well appointed kithcenette in the comfort of your room, there are some great little restaurants around.
Yeah... we will definitelymake Atlantis Lodge a yearly event.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or third floor for best beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
WOW!! That was such an awesome review of us and the surrounding area. We are so happy you have found your sanctuary here on the North Carolina coast. Everything you wrote was so thoughtful and both the Atlantis and teh Crystal Coast thank you. Hope to see you again next October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, VT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had planned a week on the Outer Banks (our first visit) for the last week in October ending with two nights in Atlantic beach before returning to RDU and the flight back home. Hurricane Sandy changed that. To get out of the heavy winds and rain we drove south where Atlantis Lodge took us in for the whole week.
We chose a suite not on the end. We had a good view of the sunup from the room and the sundown (on the back deck) - once the sun came out. This is a very well run lodge. The staff are excellent and very responsive to problems. The wild bird/wildlife garden area that fronts the beach was a terrific idea. This place is especially loved by shell hunters and people with dogs.
We'll try to get back here when we eventually get to the Outer Banks. Do tour the fort and see the aquarium!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
So sorry that Sandy interfered with your original plan but happy you found us in the midst of chaos. We are so happy that we could help salvage you vacation and that you enjoyed your stay. Next time we will try to arrange better weather for you :) Thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The second week of Oct. 2012 my husband and I went on an "Our State" magazine tour. It included the NC Zoo in Ashboro, Eddie's Cafe, Atlantis Lodge in Pine Knolls Shore and Wilbur's BBQ in Goldsboro. Every place we went was just as they said. Atlantis was quiet, including the canine guests (more than I can say for my own neighborhood). The convenience of having a boardwalk to the beach was very important to us as my husband in visually impaired. All amenities were at our fingertips at no extra charge. They even provided a more comfortable chair in our room for my husband than was originally in there! We saved money by eating breakfast and lunch in the room, then splurged on supper. Go to their recommendations page for good eats and things to do - they are right on the money. Thanks Atlantis for a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: First floor is convenient, but no view of the beach. All other rooms are fine. Best view would be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad you and your husband had a great stay and that we could accomodate his needs with a more comfortable chair. Hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the best time, divided bedroom suited our family situation. It really is right on the beach, friendly staff provided extra towels for our little grand-daughter. Lots of dogs for her to get to know. Booked at quite short notice but our stay was perfect. We will definitely return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your granddaughter had many 4 legged friends to play with. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coinjock,nc
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is what it is - an old beach motel that has maintained its character. The staff is professional and friendly, the rooms are clean, the grounds are beautiful and the atmosphere if great. We liked it.

oh yeah, pets allowed

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
What a nice review, short but right to the point. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your stay. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Atlantis has a great staff, unusually pretty grounds and outdoor spaces, and of course sits right on the beach, offering plenty of chaise lounges and umbrellas for guests. I stayed in a corner upstairs one-bedroom suite and had a gorgeous view down the coast. It's in Pine Knolls Shores and just a 15 minute drive to historic Beaufort or Emerald Isle. Great dog friendly spot. I plan on staying here again; love this beach in late September or early October.

Room Tip: No elevators so if you want someone to help you carry your luggage, arrive before 3:30pm. 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna N, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantis Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We loved the pictures! Thanks for posting them so others can see the awesome views and recent pictures of the rooms. Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Lodge

Address: 123 Salter Path Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Atlantic Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Atlantic Beach
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantis is a special place created from a beautifully wooded, oceanfront site, unlike any other on the coast. Most of our units are suites with efficiency kitchens, dining, living and sleeping areas. All have patios or decks facing the surf, cable TV with remote, HBO, and all expected amenities including high-speed internet access. And yes, we do accept your pets in most units at a minimal fee. We are a very special place on the "Crystal Coast." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Atlantic Beach
Atlantis Motel Atlantic Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.